It’s a long way to the top and nobody knows this better than AC/DC – the little band from Sydney who first conquered Australia before becoming one of the highest grossing bands of all time and legends of rock n roll.

Now nearly 40 years since they first picked up their guitars, and after a few lineup changes, being dropped by their record label, the tragic death of frontman Bon Scott, and 15 studio albums; the group are gearing up to released their first live album in 20 years.

Recorded in Buenos Aires in December 2009 when nearly 200,000 fans over 3 sold-out nights thunderously welcomed AC/DC back after a 13-year absence from Argentina, AC/DC Live At River Plate captures the legendary grandeur, excitement and energy that AC/DC’s live performances are renowned for.

According to Consequence Of Sound, this ultimate live recording chronicles one of the largest shows from their massively successful Black Ice World Tour where they performed to over 5 million fans in 108 cities in over 28 countries – proving once again they are as relevant and popular as ever.

Not that you needed the proof, it’s pretty much every where you look. From the legendary AC/DC lane in Melbourne, to their classic ‘It’s A Long Way To The Top’ recent inclusion in the National Registry of Recorded Sound to be preserved for future generations.

But it isn’t just governments getting in on the action – every year fans around the world make headlines for some pretty inventive uses of the groups music.

Whether it be attracting great white sharks by blasting ‘If You Want Blood’ and ‘You Shook Me All Night Long’ underwater, or helping save the world by disrupting the Iranian nucleur program with a virus that played ‘Thunderstruck’ over and over through the loud speakers – AC/DC fans are showing the versatility of the band the world over.

You at home can do your bit too. How do you stack up against an American woman who was arrested four times in a day for blasting AC/DC classic ‘Highway To Hell’ at deafening volumes from her home? Now that’s a true fan.

The album will be issued as a two-disc CD or a three-disc red vinyl package, featuring multiple album covers and a special 24-page booklet. You can take a look at the tracklist below.

AC/DC Live At River Plate

01. Rock N Roll Train
02. Hell Ain’t A Bad Place To Be
03. Back In Black
04. Big Jack
05. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
06. Shot Down In Flames
07. Thunderstruck
08. Black Ice
09. The Jack
10. Hells Bells
11. Shoot To Thrill
12. War Machine
13. Dog Eat Dog
14. You Shook Me All Night Long
15. T.N.T.
16. Whole Lotta Rosie
17. Let There Be Rock
18. Highway To Hell
19. For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine