Some days are just great days for music. Today, is one of those days a number of great new albums from Cold War Kids, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Australia’s own Josh Pyke are announced.

First up, everyone’s favourite Californian indie-rockers Cold War Kids, have announced the release of their fourth studio album, Dear Miss Lonelyhearts. The record is due out on April 5 and in anticipation of the release, the band is currently streaming the album’s engaging lead single, “Miracle Mile” (which you can listen to further down).

The four piece’s latest EP was recorded close to home in San Pedro, CA where they enlisted new guitar player, Dann Gallucci (Murder City Devils, Modest Mouse) and Lars Stalfors to produce.

Of the process, lead singer Nathan Willet says, “We were shaken up, ready to let certain songs go further than before by trying new styles and arrangements, while keeping others sparse and caring more about the finished product and less about how we got there.”

Currently due to tour the US in support of their latest single, here’s hoping the Californians make it down under and please audiences just like they did last time they hit our shores in January 2011.

Check out the lead single “Miracle Mile’ from Cold Ward Kids’ new album below.

Here in Australia, there’s great news for Josh Pyke fans. Having dropped a new single “Pressed Against You In The Crowd” just yesterday, the Sydney-sider has also announced more details about his upcoming third studio album. The new tune, which was written in Scotland, is described by Pyke as being a thank you to fans.

“It’s essentially a song about loving music, and loving songs, and loving seeing them played live, and the connection we feel to the people that sing them,” says the singer-songwriter.

While there’s no information on a release date for his latest full length album, Pyke’s management has confirmed that it will be sometime in 2013.

The single, “Pressed Against You In The Crowd” is downloadable via Pyke’s website here

Finally, the first month of 2013 isn’t even over yet and already we’re hedging out bets that the latest release from the Karen O fronted Yeah Yeah Yeahs will win the prize for ugliest album cover of the year (if not the deacde).

Mosquito will be the band’s first LP since 2009’s critically and commercially lauded It’s Blitz!, with production from TV On The Radio‘s Dave Sitek, and LCD Soundsystem‘s James Murphy, hopes are high for the band’s fourth album.

In a press release issued by the band, frontwoman Karen O says: “We would love for this music to make our fans feeeeel something, for it to stir some shit up inside of them, whatever that may be. So much feeling went into this record, it was the rope ladder thrown down into the ditch for us to climb up and dust ourselves off. I hope others can climb up it too; we’re excited to share the good vibes.”

Well, here’s hoping the music isn’t as assaulting on fans’ ears as the cover artwork is on their eyes, or the band might be in trouble.

Mosquito is due out on April 16th and a teaser for the album has already been released. Check out the hideous artwork and teaser video below.

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine