Black Sabbath have dug through the archives and blessed us with two live renditions of ‘Heaven and Hell’ and ‘The Mob Rules’. 

The performances are drawn from the band’s forthcoming reissues of the albums of the same name, in which frontman Ronnie James Dio tackled vocal duties.

Ronnie Dio joined Black Sabbath back in 1979 after singer Ozzy Osbourne was given the sack over his unhinged drink and drug fuelled behaviour. Together with guitarist Tony Iommi, bassist Geezer Butler and drummer Bill Ward, the band released three-critically acclaimed records 1980’s Heaven & Hell, 1981’s Mob Rules and 1992’s Dehumanizer.

Check out ‘Heaven and Hell (Live B-side)’ by Black Sabbath:

Click to play videoPlay

The rare performance of ‘Heaven and Hell’ was initially only released in Europe in 1980 and a B-side on the band’s single ‘Die Young.’ Whilst ‘The Mob Rules’ is taken from a previously unreleased April 22nd, 1982 concert at the Portland Memorial Coliseum.

The deluxe releases of Heaven and Hell and The Mob Rules will be unveiled on March 5th. The new editions offer both albums in a new remastered form, and a trove of extensive bonus material. You can find the full tracklist below.

Check out ‘The Mob Rules (Live in Portland)’ by Black Sabbath:

Click to play videoPlay

Heaven and Hell Reissue Tracklist
Disc One: Original Album (2021 Remaster)
1. ‘Neon Knights’
2. ‘Children of the Sea’
3. ‘Lady Evil’
4. ‘Heaven and Hell’
5. ‘Wishing Well’
6. ‘Die Young’
7. ‘Walk Away’
8. ‘Lonely Is the Word’

Love Classic Rock?

Get the latest Classic Rock news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

Disc Two: Bonus Tracks
1. ‘Children of the Sea’ – Live B-Side of ‘Neon Knights’ *
2. ‘Heaven and Hell’ – Live B-Side of ‘Die Young’ *
3. ‘Lady Evil’ – 7” Mono Edit (unreleased on CD)
Hartford Civic Center, Hartford, CT (August 10, 1980)
4. ‘Neon Knights’ *
5. ‘Children of the Sea’ *
6. ‘Heaven and Hell’ *
7. ‘Die Young’ *
Hammersmith Odeon, London (Dec 31, 1981- Jan 2, 1982)
8. ‘E5150’
9. ‘Neon Knights’
10. ‘Children of the Sea’
11. ‘Heaven and Hell’

The Mob Rules Reissue Tracklist
Disc One: Original Album (2021 Remaster)
1. ‘Turn Up the Night’
2. ‘Voodoo’
3. ‘The Sign of the Southern Cross’
4. ‘E5150’
5. ‘The Mob Rules’
6. ‘Country Girl’
7. ‘Slipping Away’
8. ‘Falling Off the Edge of the World’
9. ‘Over and Over’

Bonus Tracks
10. ‘The Mob Rules’ – Heavy Metal Soundtrack Version
11. ‘Die Young’ – Live B-Side Of ‘Mob Rules’ 7” *
12. ‘The Mob Rules’ – New 2021 Mix **
Live At The Hammersmith Odeon London (31/12/81 – 2/1/82)
13. ‘Country Girl’
14. ‘Slipping Away’
15. ‘The Mob Rules’
16. ‘Voodoo’
Live At Portland Memorial Coliseum, Portland, OR, April 22, 1982
17. Intro **
18. ‘Neon Knights’ **

Disc Two: Bonus Tracks – Live At Portland Memorial Coliseum, Portland, OR, April 22, 1982
1. ‘N.I.B.” **
2. ‘Children of the Sea’ **
3. ‘Voodoo’ **
4. ‘Black Sabbath’ **
5. ‘War Pigs’ **
6. Drum Solo **
7. ‘Iron Man’ **
8. ‘The Mob Rules’ **
9. ‘Heaven and Hell’ **
10. Guitar Solo **
11. ‘Sign of the Southern Cross/Heaven and Hell’ – Reprise **
12. ‘Paranoid’ **
13. ‘Children of the Grave’ **

*previously unreleased in North America
**previously unreleased