Like Guns N Roses’ Chinese Democracy before it, comes the news that many in music thought they would never hear: My Bloody Valentine have actually released a new album.

Sometime late on Saturday night (UK time), the band posted a message on their Facebook wall saying, “We are preparing to go live with the new album/website this evening. We will make an announcement as soon as it’s up.”

A few tense hours, the band finally came good on their promise, launching a brand new website which promptly crashed from what was no doubt an avalanche of hungry My Bloody Valentine fans eager for a taste of the first new material to come from the band since 1991.

Titled simply, m b v., the nine-track record is based around songs the band began working on back in 1996, and although the band dropped a collection of previously unreleased tracks earlier this year, this will be their first new album since the release of their genre defining Loveless 21 years ago.

After their 1991 release, My Bloody Valentine were declared the leaders of the alt rock shoegaze movement, with Loveless remaining one of the quintessential guitar albums of the 90s to this day. However, amid the growing expectation for a follow up from the band, they effectively fell off the radar, disappearing from view, creating the hype that has no doubt reached its peak, making the announcement of a new LP all the more interesting.

“I’m expecting some trouble but, you know what? I don’t care about all of that.” – Kevin Shields

Speaking before the release of m b v.frontman Kevin Shields revealed that “based on the very, very few people who’ve heard stuff – some engineers, the band, and that’s about it – some people think it’s stranger than Loveless. I don’t. I feel it really frees us up, and in the bigger picture it’s 100% necessary.”

It goes without saying that expectations are high for the new record, but Shields aims to let the pieces fall where they may. “I’m expecting some trouble but, you know what? I don’t care about all of that.” The singer is confident “people who like us will immediately connect with something.”

Australian fans will be among the first to hear the new material live when the band come down under following a string of shows in Japan. Their headlining set at the All Tomorrow’s Parties festival in Melbourne will mark, not only their return to Australia, but also the return of the festival itself. The resurrected event – titled I’ll Be Your Mirror – was announced back in August, curated this year by The Drones.

My Bloody Valentine have also announced a national tour throughout February where they’re expected to hit venues in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane.

With a slightly altered lineup featuring Shields, Bilinda Butcher, Debbie Googe and co-founder Cold Ó Cíosóig, My Bloody Valentine’s long awaited return to our shores will bring relief to the fans who have endured the 21 year wait.

m b v. will be available exclusively from the official My Bloody Valentine website as either a download, CD or  on vinyl.

m b v. Tracklisting

1. she found now
2. only tomorrow
3. who sees you
4. is this and yes
5. if i am
6. new you
7. in another way
8. nothing is
9. wonder 2

My Bloody Valentine Australian Tour 2013

Tickets on sale now at:

Monday 18th Feb – Enmore Theatre, Sydney

Wednesday 20th Feb – Tivoli Theatre, Brisbane

Friday 22 Feb – Palace Theatre, Melbourne

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine