Bluesfest’s annual festival-within-a-festival is returning in 2019, with Boomerang revealing its lineup for this year’s event.

It’s hard to believe that there’s still room for Bluesfest to expand, but with just over two months until the festival’s 30th anniversary celebrations kick off, organisers have unveiled this year’s Boomerang lineup.

First appearing at Bluesfest back in 2013, Boomerang is described as a dedicated First Nations program that aims to showcase excellence through performance and culture.

Featuring artists from Arnhem Land, Papua New Guinea, and the Pacific, this year’s event is set to feature brilliant music, educational workshops, and informative cultural exchanges that promote learning and equality.

“Our Indigenous festival within a festival, at Bluesfest, is one of our highlights,” explained Bluesfest festival director Bluesfest, Peter Noble OAM. “It is a musical and sensory delight.”

“We have the best artists and dancers from Australia and surrounding regions. The dance troupes are thrilling and to have a musical showcase presenting the Young Australian of the Year; the incredible Baker Boy, the legendary Archie Roach, Yothu Yindi & the Treaty Project, Mojo Juju, the Mission Songs, Benny Walker and much much more – this is a dream bill for us!”

Undoubtedly one of the finest lineups you’ll find anywhere, this year’s Boomerang festival is an exceptional and diverse addition to an already-stacked Bluesfest lineup.

Love Pierce Brothers?

Get the latest Pierce Brothers news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

Check out all the details below, and head over to the Bluesfest website to scope out playing times.

Check out Baker Boy’s ‘Black Magic’:

YouTube VideoPlay

Boomerang 2019 Lineup

Baker Boy
Archie Roach
Yothu Yindi & the Treaty Project
Mojo Juju
Benny Walker
Dallas Woods
Mission Songs
Brotherhood of The Blues
Malu Kiai Mura Buai
Tenzin Choegyal
Te Kopere Maori Healers
Bundjalung Weavers
Saltwater Dubay

With more artists yet to be announced…

Bluesfest 2019 Lineup

Jack Johnson
Iggy Pop
Ben Harper & the Innocent Criminals
Paul Kelly
The Saboteurs (Jack White, Brendan Benson, Patrick Keeler, Jack Lawrence)
Tash Sultana
David Gray
Ray La Montagne
Norah Jones
Julia Stone
Kasey Chambers
Mavis Staples
Gary Clark Jr.
Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats
George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic
Tommy Emmanuel
Snarky Puppy
Meshell Ndegeocello
Colin Hay
Imelda May
Kurt Vile and the Violators
Keb’ Mo’
Allen Stone
St. Paul and The Broken Bones
Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real
Melbourne Ska Orchestra
Ocean Alley
Archie Roach
Shakey Graves
Arlo Guthrie
Nahko and Medicine for the People
Tex Perkins
I’m With Her
Ruthie Foster
Richard Clapton
Russell Morris
Flogging Molly
The Marcus King Band
Fantastic Negrito
Samantha Fish
The War and Treaty
Deva Mahal
Larkin Poe
The Black Sorrows
Vintage Trouble
Pierce Brothers
Mojo Juju
Trevor Hall
Irish Mythen
Anderson East
Melody Angel
Hussy Hicks
The California Honeydrops
Elephant Sessions
Caiti Baker
Little Georgia
Benny Walker
Dallas Woods
Amaru Tribe
RockWiz Live

Thursday, April 18th – Monday, April 22nd, 2019
Tyagarah Tea Tree Farm, Byron Bay, NSW
Tickets: Bluesfest

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine