Dave Grohl’s Sound City: Reel To Real, a rockumentary about the titular LA studio is set to debut at the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah later this month and, as previously reported, many of the list of A-list names being interviewed on screen about the legendary recording studio also appear on the film’s soundtrack.

As if the eleven-track super compilation, which spawned that Nirvana/Paul McCartney collaboration, wasn’t enough, Grohl is set to take his all-star team to the stage, as Consequence of Sound reports.

With a lineup promising “core musicians and special guests from the film,” Grohl’s temporary supergroup is set to make their live debut on January 18 at Park City Live during the Sundance Film Festival in honour of the documentary’s debut screening.

Dubbed The Sound City Players, they’re a supergroup to top all supergroups. How super? Alongside the surviving members of Nirvana – Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic, and Pat Smear – as well as fellow Foo Fighters Taylor Hawkins, Nate Mendel and Chris Shiflett, the Sound City Players ranks include (*deep breath*) Stevie Nicks, John Fogerty, Rick Springfield, Alain Johannes (Queens of the Stone Age), Chris Goss (producer), Rick Neilsen (Cheap Trick), Lee Ving (Fear), Brad Wilk (Rage Against The Machine), Jessy Greene (Geraldine Fibbers), and the Wallflowers’ Rami Jafee.With a lineup promising “core musicians and special guests from the film,” Grohl’s temporary supergroup is set to make their live debut in January

The band will no doubt be playing selections crafted for the Sound City movie, and considering the bandmates on offer that includes the majority of the soundtrack’s eleven all-star collaborations, the recorded version of which also features the likes of Josh Homme, Trent Reznor, and the Paul McCartney aided ‘Cut Me Some Slack’.

The Sound City: Real To Real soundtrack is now available for pre-order through iTunes ahead of its March 12, 2013 release date via Grohl’s own label Roswell Records, with the film itself expected around the same time.

Just as the soundtrack is a star-studded collection of music’s big names, Grohl’s directorial debut also rounds up a jaw-dropping list of interviewees including Neil Young, Tom Petty, John Fogerty, Frank Black, Lindsey Buckingham, Rick Rubin, Lars Ulrich, and many more.

Love Rage Against The Machine?

Get the latest Rage Against The Machine news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

Which all should give Grohl plenty to talk about when he appears as a keynote speaker at Austin, Texas’ influential industry gathering SXSW this year, taking place a day after the conference kicks off on March 12th 2013.

You can gawp at the tracklisting for the Sound City soundtrack, and scope the teaser trailer below:

Sound City – Real To Reel tracklisting:
01 Dave Grohl, Peter Hayes, and Robert Levon Been: “Heaven and All”
02 Brad Wilk, Chris Goss, Dave Grohl, and Tim Commerford: “Time Slowing Down”
03 Dave Grohl, Rami Jaffee, Stevie Nicks, and Taylor Hawkins: “You Can’t Fix This”
04 Dave Grohl, Nate Mendel, Pat Smear, Rick Springfield, and Taylor Hawkins: “The Man That Never Was”
04 Alain Johannes, Dave Grohl, Lee Ving, Pat Smear, and Taylor Hawkins: “Your Wife Is Calling”
06 Corey Taylor, Dave Grohl, Rick Nielsen, and Scott Reeder: “From Can to Can’t”
07 Alain Johannes, Chris Goss, Dave Grohl, and Joshua Homme: “Centipede”
08 Alain Johannes, Dave Grohl, and Joshua Homme: “A Trick With No Sleeve”
09 Paul McCartney, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic, and Pat Smear: “Cut Me Some Slack”
10 Dave Grohl, Jessy Greene, Jim Keltner, and Rami Jaffee: “Once Upon a Time… The End”
11 Dave Grohl, Joshua Homme, and Trent Reznor: “Mantra”

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine