The final list of nominations for the AIR Awards 2013 have been revealed as the Australian Independent Record Labels Association (AIR) unveils the definitive list of artists and independent music groups up for a major gong at this year’s annual ceremony.

Following on from announcing a new sponsorship deal with Carlton Dry to present the 2013 edition of the annual ceremony, and announcing the live lineup of six independent artists performing live on the night, the category nominations for the 8th Annual Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards demonstrate an impressive mix across 10 major categories, as well as the shortlist for the coveted Independent Artist of the Year Award

Following on from announcing the initial list of nominations for the 8th Annual Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards, with Flume and Jagwar Ma leading the pack, the nominations for the Best Classical Release and Best Independent Record Label, as well as a brand new award category.

Presented by Carlton Dry, the new sponsorship for the 2013 edition of the annual ceremony, the Carlton Dry Global Music Grant provides a $50,000 cash prize to an emerging independent artist or band in order to provide a major boost to their profile internationally, the finances designed to be used to give the winner a leg up in the international market.

“The Carlton Dry Global Music Grant has been created to ensure that current and future generations of emerging Australian artists have the opportunity to take their music careers abroad,” notes AIR Awards 2013’s press release. “Conditions for entry are that the band or artist must be emerging, Australian, self released or released by an independent Label, and that the prize money must be used exclusively to help tour, showcase, record, or relocate overseas to further their careers.”

Those nominated for the inaugural $50K prize are Melbourne indie twosome Big Scary (who are also performing at the ceremony), raucous garage rebels King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, singer-songwriter Mia Dyson, electro provocateurs RUFUS, and Sydney’s Jagwar Ma – bringing their total nomination tally to six.

Meanwhile, over in the Best Independent Label category, there’s an impressive mix of local record companies and representatives. Future Classic are up for the gong, bolstered with several artist nominations (from Flume and Jagwar Ma), along with Mushroom subsidy Liberation (Vance Joy), Melbourne group Two Bright Lakes (Collarbones), Sweat It Out records (RUFUS, Yolanda Be Cool), and Milk! Records (Courtney Barnett, Jen Cloher).

Along with the nominations, a number of Australia’s most loved acts will be performing on the night and celebrating independent music. With live performances from nominees Big Scary, Violent Soho, RÜFÜS, Saskwatch, Seth Sentry, and Indigenous singer-songwriter Archie Roach.

With that kind of musical lineup, this year’s 8th Annual Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards is sure to be as winningly entertaining as last year’s event.

The Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards will be held on Wednesday 9th October at the Revolt art space in Kensington, Melbourne (for the third year running) and will once again celebrate the achievements of the Australian indie artists, labels, and industry based on votes from online media, music press, broadcasters, and others from the indie music sector.

AIR Awards 2013 Nominations

Best Independent Label
Future Classic
Milk! Records
Sweat It Out
Two Bright Lakes

Best Independent Classical Release
Amy Dickson – Catch Me If You Can (ABC Music)
Benaud Trio – Bohemian Rhapsody (Melba Records)
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra & Nigel Westlake – Missa Solis: Requiem For Eli (ABC Music)
Paul Dean and Stephen Emmerson – The Romantic Clarinet (Melba Recordings)
Siobhan Stagg and Amir Farid – Hymne a lamour (Move Records)

Carlton Dry Global Music Grant
Big Scary
Jagwar Ma
King Gizard & The Lizard Wizard
Mia Dyson

Best Independent Artist
Big Scary
Dick Diver
Jagwar Ma
The Drones

Best Independent Artist
Big Scary
Dick Diver
Jagwar Ma
The Drones

Best Independent Album
Big Scary – Not Art (Pieater)
Dick Diver – Calendar Daus (Chapter Music)
Flume – Flume (Future Classic)
Jagwar Ma – Howlin (Future Classic)
The Drones – I Sea Seaweed (MGM)

Breakthrough Independent Artist of the Year
Courtney Barnett
Kirin J Callinan
Seth Sentry
The Rubens
Vance Joy

Best Independent Single Or EP
Big Scary – Luck Now (Pieater)
Courtney Barnett – History Eraser (Milk! Records)
Flume – Holdin’ On (Future Classic)
Jagwar Ma – Man I Need (Future Classic)
Vance Joy – God Loves You When You’re Dancing (Liberation Music)

Best Independent Hip Hop Album
Bliss n Eso – Circus In The Sky (Illusive)
Illy – Bring It Back (Obese Records)
Seth Sentry – This Was Tomorrow (High Score Records)
Spit Syndicate – Sunday Gentlemen (Obese Records)
Urthboy – Smokey’s Haunt (Elefant Traks)

Best Independent Country Album
Baylou – Go To Hell and I Love You (ABC Music)
Catherine Britt – Always Never Enough (ABC Music)
Karl Broadie – A Side B Side Seaside (WJO)
The Sunny Cowgirls – What We Do (WJO)
Lee Kernaghan – Beautiful Noise (ABC Music)

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album
Mama Kin – The Magician’s Daughter (MGM)
Mia Dyson – The Moment (MGM)
Paul Kelly – Spring And Fall (Gawd Aggie Recordings)
Tim Rogers – Rogers Sings Rogerstein (Four | Four)
The Cat Empire – Steal The Light (Two Shoes Record)

Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – 12 Bar Bruise (Flightless)
Kingswood – Change Of Heart (Capgun Kids)
Parkway Drive – Atlas (Resist Records)
The Mark Of Cain – Songs Of The Third and Fifth (Feel Presents)
The Smith Street Band – Sunshine And Technology (Poison City Records)

Best Independent Jazz Album
Allan Browne Trio – Lost In The Stars (Jazzhead)
Christopher Hale – Sylvan Coda (Which Way Music)
Jonathan Zwartz – The Remembering And Forgetting Of The Air (Planet)
Magnet – Magnet (Magnet Sounds)
Trichotomy – Fact Finding Mission (Jazzhead Records)

Best Independent Dance, Electronica Album
Collarbones – Die Young (Two Bright Lakes / Remote Control)
Flume – Flume (Future Classic)
Jagwar Ma – Howlin (Future Classic)
ShockOne – Universes (OneLove)
Yolanda Be Cool – Ladies And Mentalman (Sweat It Out)

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single
Charles Murdoch – Dekire featuring Oscar Key Sung (Future Classic)
Flight Facilities – Clair De Lune (feat. Christine Hoberg) (Independent / AWAL)
Flume – Holdin On (Future Classic)
Jagwar Ma – Man I Need (Future Classic)
RUFUS – Take Me (Sweat it Out)

AIR Awards 2013

Wednesday October 9th, 2013
Revolt, 12 Elizabeth Street, Kensington

with performances from
Violent Soho
Archie Roach
Big Scary
Seth Sentry

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine