Before devoting her time to creating wacky, subversive pop perfection, Grimes studied neuroscience at Montreal’s McGill University. The outlandish musician recently featured on Sean Carroll’s Mindscape podcast, where she delved into artificial intelligence’s impact on the future of music.

“I feel like we’re in the end of art, human art,” she proclaimed. “Once there’s actually AGI (Artificial General Intelligence), they’re gonna be so much better at making art than us…once AI can totally master science and art, which could happen in the next 10 years, probably more like 20 or 30 years.”

Grimes then went on to detail that she believes that technology could soon eradicate the need for live performance. “I think live music is going to be obsolete soon,” she shared, highlighting that “DJs get paid more than real musicians.”

“It’s kinda like Instagram or whatever.

“People are actually just gravitating towards the clean, finished, fake world. Everyone wants to be in a simulation. They don’t actually want the real world. Even if they think they do and everyone’s like, ‘yeah, cool, live music!’ if you actually look at actual numbers of things, everyone’s gravitating towards the shimmery perfected Photoshop world.”

It’s an interesting theory. Though we’re not sure that a future dominated by singularity will be able to evoke the same gut-wrenching catharsis that screaming your heart out to Fall Out Boy’s ‘Saturday’ does with a group of your friends’ ushers in.

Earlier this week, Grimes released another cut from her forthcoming record Miss_Anthropocene, ‘So Heavy I Fell Through The Earth’. Check it out below.

Watch: Grimes – ‘So Heavy I Fell Through The Earth’

As well as dropping this delicious track, the musician unveiled the full tracklist for the record. Miss Anthropocene is set for release on February 21st 2020 via 4AD / Remote Control Records.

Grimes – Miss Anthropocene
(standard CD /LPGrimes will release her highly-anticipated fifth studio album, Miss Anthropocene on February 21st 2020 via 4AD / Remote Control Records,/digital)

1. So Heavy I Fell Through the Earth 6:08
2. Darkseid (with 潘PAN) 3:44
3. Delete Forever 3:57
4. Violence (with i_o) 3:41
5. 4ÆM 4:31
6. New Gods 3:16
7. My Name is Dark 5:56
8. You’ll miss me when I’m not around 2:42
9. Before the fever 3:37
10. IDORU 7:13