The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has unveiled its lineup of 2021 nominees, marking the celebrations most gender-inclusive roster in Rock Hall history, with seven of the sixteen acts nominated featuring women.

Mary J. Blige, Kate Bush, Devo, Foo Fighters, The Go-Go’s, Iron Maiden, Jay-Z, Chaka Khan, Carole King, Fela Kuti, LL Cool J, New York Dolls, Rage Against the Machine, Todd Rundgren, Tina Turner and Dionne Warwick all grace the 2021 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ballot.

Two of the women featured have already been inducted into the Rock Hall, living legend and Tapestry songwriter Carole King was first inducted in the hall as a non-performer category, whilst Tina Turner was inducted as part of the duo Ike & Turner. This years celebration will honour the pair as influential solo artists.

This also marks the second time Dave Grohl of Foo Fighters has been inducted into the Hall — who previously earned a nod for his work in Nirvana. 

As is tradition, the Hall of Fame has outlined the individual members of bands that will be eligible for induction if their group is inducted.

For Foo Fighters, the current lineup of Dave Grohl, drummer Taylor Hawkins, bassist Nate Mendel, keyboardist Rami Jaffee, and guitarists Pat Smear and Chris Shiflett are eligible.

The current lineup of Iron Maiden — singer Bruce Dickinson, bassist Steve Harris, drummer Nicko McBrain, and guitarists Adrian Smith, Dave Murray, and Janick Gers— will all be considered, alongside former singer Paul Di’Anno, former drummer Clive Burr, and former guitarist Dennis Stratton.

Love Rage Against The Machine?

Get the latest Rage Against The Machine news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

The seventies/eighties lineup of DEVO, which featured Mark Mothersbaugh, bassist/singer Gerald Casale, drummer Alan Myers, keyboardist/guitarist Bob Casale, and guitarist Bob Mothersbaugh, will be highlighted.

Whilst New York Dolls frontman David Johansen, bassist Arthur Kane, guitarists Johnny Thunders and Sylvain Sylvain, and drummers Jerry Nolan and Billy Murcia are contending. Johansen is the only living member of New York Dolls.

Voting for the 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is open now, head to for mor einformation.

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine