The Godfather of Punk has sung Mitski’s praises on his BBC 6 radio show. Yesterday before playing her song “My Body’s Made of Crushed Little Stars.” Iggy had this to say:

“She’s a great talent. For me she’s probably the most advanced American songwriter that I know — if it’s not her, maybe I would say Justin Vernon, the Bon Iver guy — but this young woman is really really really… she can do whatever she wants. She writes and sings and she plays too; her name’s Mitski.”

You can listen to a snippet of the stream below:

Mitski’s next album Be The Cowboy arrives August 17th via Dead Oceans.


Be The Cowboy tracklist:

01 Geyser
02 Why Didn’t You Stop Me
03 Old Friend
04 A Pearl
05 Lonesome Love
06 Remember My Name
07 Me and My Husband
08 Come Into the Water
09 Nobody
10 Pink in the Night
11 A Horse Named Cold Air
12 Washing Machine Heart
13 Blue Light
14 Two Slow Dancers

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine