Metallica has unveiled plans of a second live album and concert film with San Francisco Symphony. The collection documents the band’s S&M2 shows.

S&M2 is the follow-up to the band’s 1999 live album S&M. The performance was recorded in San Francisco over two nights in September 2019 with the San Francisco Symphony to commemorate the 20th anniversary of S&M.

The 20-song spectacle featured symphonic versions of Metallica’s most beloved cuts, including at least one track from each of the band’s 10 studio albums.

The record is set for release on August 28th and available to preorder now, S&M2 will be released in a slew of formats, including a digital album and four-LP-vinyl, two-CD, DVD, and Blu-ray versions, and a limited-edition Deluxe Box set to contain four color-vinyl LPs, two CDs, and Blu-ray, in addition to as sheet music, guitar picks, a poster, and other memorabilia.

Check out Metallica & San Francisco Symphony perform ‘Nothing Else Matters’:

YouTube VideoPlay

A Super Deluxe Box, limited to 500 copies, includes Deluxe Box contents plus the actual sheet music used by the symphony, autographed by all four Metallica members.

Metallica have given fans a taste of what to expect with previewed live performances of ‘All Within My Hands’ and ‘Nothing Else Matters’.

Check out Metallica & San Francisco Symphony perform ‘All Within My Hands’:

YouTube VideoPlay

S&M2 Track List

Love Classic Rock?

Get the latest Classic Rock news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

1. ‘The Ecstasy of Gold’ (Live)
2. ‘The Call of Ktulu’ (Live)
3. ‘For Whom the Bell Tolls’ (Live)
4. ‘The Day That Never Comes’ (Live)
5. ‘The Memory Remains’ (Live)
6. ‘Confusion’ (Live)
7. ‘Moth Into Flame’ (Live)
8. ‘The Outlaw Torn’ (Live)
9. ‘No Leaf Clover’ (Live)
10. ‘Halo on Fire’ (Live)
11. ‘Intro to Scythian Suite’ (Live)
12. ‘Scythian Suite, Opus 20 II: The Enemy God and the Dance of the Dark Spirits’ (Live)
13. ‘Intro to the Iron Foundry’ (Live)
14. ‘The Iron Foundry, Opus 19’ (Live)
15. ‘The Unforgiven III’ (Live)
16. ‘All Within My Hands’ (Live)
17. ‘(Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth’ (Live)
18. ‘Wherever I May Roam’ (Live)
19. ‘One’ (Live)
20. ‘Master of Puppets’ (Live)
21. ‘Nothing Else Matters’ (Live)
22. ‘Enter Sandman’ (Live)

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine