Renowned indie rockers Modest Mouse are returning after an absence of six years, announcing their new album will arrive in June.

As per Pitchfork, the new album is titled The Golden Casket and it will be their first album since 2015’s Strangers to Ourselves.

The last time we heard from the band was in 2019 with the release of the track ‘Ice Cream Party’. That had followed another single from earlier that year, ‘Poison The Well’. Although those releases were thought at the time to be hinting at a new full-length, interestingly neither of the two tracks appear in the tracklist for The Golden Casket (see below).

As a preview of what’s to come, the Washington state band released its first single, ‘We Are Between’. It’s the sort of anthemic indie rock that has become their trademark through the years, the band becoming well known for hits like ‘Float On’ and ‘Dashboard’ in the early noughties.

The album was produced with Dave Sardy and Jacknife Lee in Los Angeles and also at Modest Mouse’s own Portland studio.

According to an official release, the album is set to reflect “the liminal space between raw punk power and experimental studio science,” according to an official release. “The twelve tracks behave like amorphous organisms, undergoing dramatic mutations and mood swings that speak to the chronic tug-of-war between hope and despair that plays out in frontman [Isaac] Brock’s head.”

The Golden Casket by Modest Mouse is set for release on June 25th and can be pre-ordered here.

Love Indie?

Get the latest Indie news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

For more on this topic, follow the Indie Observer.

The Golden Casket tracklist: 

  1. ‘Fuck Your Acid Trip’
  2. ‘We Are Between’
  3. ‘We’re Lucky’
  4. ‘Walking and Running’
  5. ‘Wooden Soldiers’
  6. ‘Transmitting Receiving’
  7. ‘The Sun Hasn’t Left’
  8. ‘Lace Your Shoes’
  9. ‘Never Fuck A Spider On The Fly’
  10. ‘Leave A Light On’
  11. ‘Japanese Trees’
  12. ‘Back To The Middle’

Check out ‘We Are Between’:

YouTube VideoPlay