Every day we’re faced with an onslaught of album announcements so we thought we’d start sharing the soon-to-be-released love by putting together a list of the most notable and exciting album announcements on a weekly basis.

Wedding Bells

In 2012 Cashmere Cat released his stellar debut EP Mirror Maru, warming the ears of all that listened. It garnered the Norwegian producer a universal success, touring internationally to sell-out crowds, notably Sydney’s 2013 Vivid.

Having returned to Australia for the grossly anticipated St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival, Cashmere Cat has unveiled his sophomore EP, Wedding Bells. ‘

With Me’ is the first teaser to drip from the extended player, the track progressing in beautiful Scandinavian fashion, drawing together whimsical keys and strings, a gorgeous harmony rise only to drop into a dance floor filling r’n’b bass.

Don’t sweat if you don’t have a Laneway ticket, Cashmere Cat has announced a slew of sideshows to accompany the St Jerome’s national circuit.

Wedding Bells is out February 10th on Future Classic

1. With Me
2. Pearls
3. Wedding Bells
4. Rice Rain

Make Believe Me

Is it the isolation of Perth that causes such a constant yet diverse amount of musical talent to emit from the Western Australia capital? Or is in the water?

Whatever it is, we’re happy for more. This time round it flows from the heaving-hitting hands of Make Believe Me. The sextuplet has announced their sophomore EP Disconnect.

Lead track off the extended press ‘Lie To Your Friends’ boasts of an even tighter sound of organised chaos that the post-hardcore specialists have crafted. Watch this space, these lads will be taking the grandest of platforms very soon.

Disconnect is out February 21 on UNFD.

Tracklisting not yet available.

Little Hurricane
Gold Fever

There’s just something so undeniably special about a man and woman two-piece.  Little Hurricane is an emphatic testament to this notion.

The dirty-bluesy Americana partners in crime have killed it since their debut release in 2011, having performed on esteemed platforms such as Lollapalooza and Austin City Limits.

It’s with great pleasure that the band have announced the release of Gold Fever, their sophomore longer player.  ‘Tone’ and ‘CC’ spoke of the record promising, “”We try to keep it raw and honest, and with the two of us that’s not hard.”A-fucking-men.

The pair are taking to the road with our very own John Butler Trio, fingers crossed they cross the Pacific to our shores in 2014.

Gold Fever is out March 7th on Death Valley/Shock Records

Tracklisting not yet available.

Major Lazer
Apocalypse Soon

What is left to be said of Major Lazer? The supergroup of dance floor genius have an obvious case of midas touch, just about everything they touch turns to gold.

Feared and revered for their demonically energetic live performances that typically involve walking over the crowd in zorbs, it’s a wandering question of what further can the producers do to enhance their game.

Well, they’ve recruited the infinite king of cool Pharrell Williams to guest appear on their upcoming EP, Apocalypse Soon. If that’s not enough, throw the likes of Sean Paul, Machel Montano, Moska, RDX and Mr. Fox.

There’s simply no stopping Major Lazer.

Apocalypse Soon is out February 25th on Mad Decent/Secretly Canadian

01 Aerosol Can [ft. Pharrell Williams]
02 Come on to Me [ft. Sean Paul]
03 Sound Bang [ft. Machel Montano]
04 Lose Yourself [ft. RDX & Moska]
05 Dale Asi [ft. Mr Fox]

Thievery Corpoation

In what has been described as a “very feminine record” arrives Thievery Corporation’s seventh studio LP, Saudade.

The legendary DJs of DC have stated that their upcoming record sought to create a “delicate yet deeply sensuous sound” which is purely exemplified from the first release ‘Depth of My Soul’.

The track pieces together elements of that classic jazzy-lounge act as the heart-stopping Shana Halligan’s ethereal husk seamlessly flows with the elegant progression of keys.

The record promises further contributions from a list of artists including: U.N.K.L.E., Federico Aubele, Roberto Santos and LouLou Ghelichkhani.

Saudade is out April 1st on ESL Music.

Tracklisting not yet available.

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine