Emerging rapper Baker Boy continued his hot streak over the weekend at the NT Song of the Year awards, picking up not only the best urban/hip hop release for his new track ‘Cloud9’ ft. Kian, but also the inaugural Native Tongue award, which scored him an all-expenses-paid trip to attend the independent music publisher’s songwriting camp.

It’s a win that pairs very nicely with the triple j Unearthed victory last week that will send him on his way to perform at this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards alongside names like A.B. Original and Paul Kelly, with the rapper’s mix of Indigenous and English language on his debut tracking striking a chord with plenty of people.

He wasn’t the only Baker to find success at the awards either, with NT singer and A.B. Original collaborator/Sietta member Caiti Baker taking out the overall Song of the Year award for ‘Make Your Own Mistakes’, as well as the pop and blues & roots categories as well.

Finally the indefinable QOTSA-supporting Lonely Boys took out the rock category with ‘Drop It Down Girl’, which we’re proud to say we premiered last year.

It was the sixth running of the Northern Territory-centric awards, and you can see the full list of winners below, along with Caiti’s winning track.

YouTube VideoPlay

NT Song of the Year 2017 winners

NT Song of the Year: ‘Make My Own Mistakes’ by Caiti Baker
Youth: ‘Kevin’ by Serina Pech
Country: ‘Kakadu’ by Dhapanbal Yunupingu
Tourism NT Territory Song: ‘Northern Residential’ by Huu Loc Nguyen (performed by Col Infinity)
Folk: ‘Compass’ by David Yunupingu, Charlie Yunupingu (performed by Saltwater Band)
Heavy: ‘Thumbtack’ by Callum Munro, Craig Ninness, Sam Washusen, Shane Jovanovic (performed by Clever Monkey)
Urban/Hip hop: ‘Cloud9’ by Danzal Baker, Kian Brownfield (performed by Baker Boy feat Kian)
Electronic/Dance: ‘Those Moments’ by Ermin Nurovic (performed by Pulzanti)
Rock: ‘Drop It Down Girl’ by Ambrose Daniels, Kasley Daniels, Bert Rami (performed by Lonely Boys)
Native Tongue Award: ‘Cloud 9’ by Danzal Baker, Kian Brownfield (performed by Baker Boy feat Kian)
APRA’s People’s Choice: ‘Castaway’ by Phoebe Wear
NT SotY Hall of Fame – Michael Hohnen (Skinnyfish) and Nora Lewis (former NT Music School)

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine