Bloody, bandaged dead men, scary clown-like figures hugging teddy bears, and a crazy amount of blood and gore have made up the leaked animated snippets which preview the new Queens Of The Stone Age album, the much anticipated …Like Clockwork, due May 31st on Matador Records

Dropping invariably over the past fortnight, QOTSA have been teasing their fans with tracks from the new album accompanied by short snippets of dark, gory, and beautiful animations that bring to life new music from the group’s upcoming sixth record.

The band have finally capped off the series of clips with a 15-minute film that ties together the gory work of UK artist Boneface, the master behind …Like Clockwork’s vampiric cover art.

The movie is a nice preview of what’s to come on QOTSA’s newest album, with new songs ‘I Appear Missing’, ‘Kalopsia’, ‘If I Had A Tail’, ‘Keep Your Eyes Peeled’, and lead single ‘My God Is The Sun’ included in the 15 minute opus.

Brooding and dark, the new material certainly has a more atmospheric and moody feel to them, but are set against classic QOTSA pounding drum lines and reverb-drenched guitars. Principal Queen-er Josh Homme has revealed the record is “an audio documentary of a manic year,” with …Like Clockwork the band’s first full length since 2007’s Era Vulgaris.

The film features a masked bloody man floating in the desert with fighting monsters and cars on fire. A billboard at the 10:53 time mark reads “THE END IS REALLY FUCKING NIGH”, possibly a hint that there’s only 10 days til we hear the full-length …Like Clockwork, but who’s counting?

Bloody, bandaged dead men, scary clown-like figures hugging teddy bears, and a crazy amount of blood and gore have made up the leaked animated snippets…

In hype that is only matched by funky Frenchsters Daft Punk, the new QOTSA album is set to feature a cavalcade of guest artists including past collaborators Dave Grohl, Mark Lanegan, Nick Oliveri, and Trent Reznor, along with appearances from Scissor Sisters’ Jake Shears, UNKLE’s James Lavelle, Arctic Monkey Alex Turner, and Sir Elton John.

The band have also let slip that they will be skipping the Aussie summer festival calendar entirely, and instead will be touching down for their own headline tour post-festival season in 2014. Homme himself told Triple J Magazine writer Samantha Clode the news earlier in the month, and the tour in 2014 could potentially mark a year on from the release of …Like Clockwork.

But while the likes of Big Day Out or Soundwave would seem likely candidates (both having featured Queens of the Stone Age in the past) and the band playing international festivals, such as Germany’s Southside and Hurricane festivals, Netherlands’ Pinkpop, UK’s Download, and the Chicago-based Lollapalooza, it was only reasonable for Australian fans to begin wondering what Aussie music festival would be able to bring over the band.

The current lineup of QOTSA features linchpin Joshua Homme, guitarist Troy Van Leewuen, multi-instrumentalist Dean Fertita, and bassist Michael Shuman, and while Foo Fighter Dave Grohl filled in on the drum stool for the recording of the latest QOTSA opus, he won’t be joining the band for their extensive tour schedule for the rest of the year.

Filling in on skin-hammering duties is none other than Jon Theodore, the former Mars Volta member and Zach de la Rocha’s co-conspirator in side-project One Day As A Lion, who also contributed to the sixth QOTSA record.

You can view the artwork and tracklising for …Like Clockwork below:

1. Keep Your Eyes Peeled
2. I Sat By The Ocean
3. The Vampyre of Time and Memory
4. If I Had A Tail
5. My God Is The Sun
6. Kalopsia
7. Fairweather Friends
8. Smooth Sailing
9. I Appear Missing
10. …Like Clockwork

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine