After teasing fans with a new single, the ominous ‘Burn The Witch’, last week, Radiohead have unveiled their highly anticipated ninth studio album. Titled A Moon Shaped Pool, it was released at 4am this morning Australia time.

After completely wiping their social media presence, the band took to Facebook this morning to announce the release of A Moon Shaped Pool, which was accompanied by the release of another new single titled ‘Daydreaming’.

The track, which bears lush instrumentation and moody atmospherics similar to ‘Burn The Witch’, comes with a music video directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, best known as the director of films like Boogie Nights and There Will Be Blood.

Radiohead’s 11-track follow-up to 2011’s The King of Limbs is already being hailed as one of the best albums the band has released to date, with The Guardian praising it for “achieving something they’ve never achieved before”.

Other reviews have likewise been extremely positive, with Rolling Stone describing the album as “a haunting, stunning triumph” and remarking on the way Radiohead’s newfound sonic territory does a complete 180 on the preceding album.

Radiohead ‘A Moon Shaped Pool’ Album Cover

In stark contrast to The King of Limbs‘ focus on percussion-heavy polyrhythms and electronic twitterings, A Moon Shaped Pool stands as more of a melancholic journey into melody and atmosphere.

The album is currently available to purchase via iTunes and and available to stream via Apple Music and Tidal. Meanwhile, a physical release is set for 17th June, with a range of pre-order packages, including vinyl copies, available now.

Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool Tracklist

1. Burn the Witch
2. Daydreaming
3. Decks Dark
4. Desert Island Disk
5. Ful Stop
6. Glass Eyes
7. Identikit
8. The Numbers
9. Present Tense
10. Tinker Tailor Soldier Sailor Rich Man Poor Man Beggar Man Thief
11. True Love Waits

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine