System of a Down’s Serj Tankian has announced the release date for his much-anticipated new solo EP, Elasticity

As per NME, the metal legend has revealed that Elasticity will finally be released on March 19th through Alchemy Recordings. It caps a long wait for fans, with Tankian first announcing the EP last May.

As fans wait for March to arrive, Tankian has shared a first taste of the full EP, the titular track ‘Elasticity’. It comes complete with a music video, directed by Vlad Kaptur.

A female protagonist sits anxiously in a long queue of people, awaiting something unknown. Tankian makes a brief appearance, from the unusual position of a singing tattoo on the woman’s forearm. Now that’s a proper tattoo.

Interestingly the five tracks contained in Elasticity were actually intended for a new System of a Down album. Tankian, though, said that the band were unable to “see eye to eye” and sort the project out.

“As we weren’t able to see eye to eye on the vision going forward with an SOAD album, I decided to release these songs under my moniker,” he explained.

Tankian also recently spoke about the future of System of a Down, offering hope that they’ll continue but only if the members are “on the same page.”

If that’s not enough Tankian news for one day, there’s also a new documentary about him coming in just two weeks. Truth to Power is about Tankian’s role in the 2018 Armenian Revolution as well as his history of activism. System of a Down, Rage Against the Machine, Rick Rubin and more will feature, and it’s scheduled for release on February 19th.

Elasticity, including special vinyl editions of the EP, can be pre-ordered here.

Serj Tankian – Elasticity EP tracklist:

1. ‘Elasticity’
2. ‘Your Mom’
3. ‘Rumi’
4. ‘How Many Times?’
5. ‘Electric Yerevan’

Check out ‘Elasticity’ by Serj Tankian:

Click to play videoPlay