4AD presents a special SOHN release for Record Store Day 2020.

Late last year the British producer and songwriter shared the stage with the Grammy-winning Metropole Orkest and conductor Hans Ek for the opening night of Amsterdam Dance Event. Combining SOHN’s signature glacial electronics with the 54 person-strong orchestra, the one-off live performance at celebrated Dutch venue Melkweg brought to life his best-known songs such as ‘The Wheel’, ‘Conrad’ and ‘Artifice’.

SOHN says, “It was an incredible opportunity to work with the Metropole on sculpting a very special evening in Amsterdam – the arrangements elevated the songs to another dimension, and luckily we recorded it all…. The album ended up being more than just a live record to me, it’s somehow a hybrid of dry electronics and rich orchestration and I’m very proud of how it turned out.”

Alongside SOHN, there is plenty to get your hands on this Record Store Day. Reissues available include The Cure’s Bloodflowers on picture disc for its 20th anniversary, Tyler the Creator’s Cherry Bomb and Soft Cell’s Mutant Moments, the latter of which was only privately pressed in tiny quantities when it originally launched in 1980. And we have some live albums treats, too, in the form of David Bowie’s previously unreleased I’m Only Dancing (The Soul Tour ’74), Alice Cooper’s Live From The Apollo Theatre Glasgow 1982, and Dinosaur Jr’s Swedish Fist (Live In Stockholm).

Live footage of their performance of ‘The Wheel’ is now available online.

SOHN – Live with the Metropole Orkest will be released as a double vinyl LP on Saturday 18 April via 4AD / Remote Control Records. 

Listen to ‘The Wheel’ (Live with the Metropole Orkest) below.

Love Electronic?

Get the latest Electronic news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

SOHN – Live with the Metropole Orkest Tracklist

Side A
1. Hue
2. Fool
3. Oscillate
4. Signal

Side B
1. The Wheel
2. Bloodflows
3. Termors
4. Harbour

Side C
1. Nil
2. Lights
3. Lessons
4. Hard Liquor

Side D
1. Artifice
2. Conrad
3. Rennen

SOHN – Live with the Metropole Orkest is out Saturday 18 April via 4AD / Remote Control Records.

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine