Sufjan Stevens has just announced his brand new album, a collaboration with his stepfather Lowell Brams. This is the first project we’ll be getting from Stevens since 2019’s The Decalogue.

Sufjan Stevens has just announced a new collaborative album with his stepfather Lowell Brams (aka the very Lowell in question on Stevens’ incredible project Carrie & Lowell). It’s called Aporia and it’s out March 27 on Asthmatic Kitty, the label that Stevens and Brams founded together.

Below you can have a listen to the brand new song from the project titled ‘The Unlimited’. Stevens has also released the cover art for the album, the tracklist, and a playlist of songs that inspired the creation of the album. The playlist features a collection of songs that have inspired the album, with tracks from the likes of Enya, Boards of Canada, Fennesz and many more.

Aporia was apparently recorded over the span of several years. “You know how it is with jamming,” Stevens writes in a press release, “ninety per cent of it is absolutely horrible, but if you’re just lucky enough, ten per cent is magic. I just kept pulling out these little magical moments.” Stevens and Brams previously collaborated on 2015’s Music for Insomnia.

Listen to ‘The Unlimited’ below.

Take a look at the rather lengthy Aporia Tracklist:

01 Ousia
02 What It Takes
03 Disinheritance
04 Agathon
05 Determined Outcome
06 Misology
07 Afterworld Alliance
08 Palinodes
09 Backhanded Cloud
10 Glorious You
11 For Raymond Scott
12 Matronymic
13 The Red Desert
14 Conciliation
15 Ataraxia
16. The Unlimited
17 The Runaround
18 Climb That Mountain
19 Captain Praxis
20 Eudaimonia
21 The Lydian Ring

Love Indie?

Get the latest Indie news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

Below you can take a look at the cover art for Aporia, the new project from Stevens and Brams.


You can listen to the playlist of tracks made by Sufjan Stevens himself titled “Informa Aporia”.

It is a collection of tracks used to influence the sound of the brand new collaboration album.

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine