Fans of modern prog can rest a little easier without a new Tool album for now, with A Perfect Circle announcing their first new release in 14 years.

The band have revealed the details surrounding their follow up to 2004’s eMOTIVe titled Eat The Elephant, set for a release on 4/20. Huh.

“Although I’m extremely excited to finally be completing this album after a 14-year hiatus, I’m actually more excited that its intentional release date is serving a greater purpose,” says frontman Maynard James Keenan.

“The 20th of April is Carina Round’s birthday. She is a dear friend who is extremely difficult to shop for. Pressure off. Of course, I must also note that the potheads are gonna be thrilled that this album comes out on 4-20. May it serve as a glorious soundtrack to accompany all of the giggling and vexing sounds of nibbling and snacking. Fingers crossed, Cheech & Chong will be proud.”

The band’s current lineup features Keenan, guitarist Billy Howerdel, guitarist James Iha (Smashing Pumpkins), drummer Jeff Friedl (Puscifer, The Beta Machine) and bassist Matt McJunkins (Eagles of Death Metal, The Beta Machine).

The band have also released the new track ‘TalkTalk’ today to accompany the album announcement.

YouTube VideoPlay

‘Eat The Elephant’ Tracklist

01. Eat the Elephant
02. Disillusioned
03. Contrarian
04. The Doomed
05. So Long, And Thanks For All the Fish
06. TalkTalk
07. By and Down the River
08. Delicious
09. DLB
10. Hourglass
11. Feathers
12. Get the Lead Out

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine