The AIR Awards 2013 nominations have been revealed as the Australian Independent Record Labels Association (AIR) unveils the list of artists up for a gong at this year’s annual ceremony.

Following on from announcing a new sponsorship deal with Carlton Dry to present the 2013 edition of the annual ceremony, and announcing the live lineup of six independent artists performing live on the night, the category nominations for the 8th Annual Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards demonstrate an impressive mix across 10 major categories, as well as the shortlist for the coveted Independent Artist of the Year Award.

Sydney beatmaker Harley Streten will be happy with the reveal, as under his Flume nom de plume he leads the nominations list, with five nods all up, which places the electronic music-maker neck and neck with fellow Sydneysiders Jagwar Ma, who also have five nominations. Both are nominated in the Independent Artist of the Year category, along with Melbourne’s Dick Diver, Big Scary (who are also performing at the ceremony) and past AIR Award-winners, The Drones.

Interestingly, the Independent Album of the Year Award mirrors the Independent Artist category with each of the aforementioned artists up for the win, meaning two records from Future Classic are in the mix (Jagwar Ma’s Howlin’ and Flume’s self-titled debut) and three total nominations for Big Scary (along with Best Independent Single or EP).

Other acts up for nominations include Courtney Barnett, Seth Sentry, and Vance Joy – all nominated in two cateogries, as well as King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Kirin J Callinan, Paul Kelly, Tim Rogers, and The Smith Street Band. Meanwhile, the hip hop category will be a hotly contested one this year, with an impressive list that features releases from Bliss N Eso, Seth Sentry, Urthboy, Spit Syndicate, and Illy.

Joining the nominated artists are a number of Australia’s most loved acts who will be performing on the night and celebrating independent music. With live performances from Big Scary, Violent Soho, RÜFÜS, Saskwatch, Seth Sentry, and Indigenous singer-songwriter Archie Roach.

With that kind of musical lineup, this year’s 8th Annual Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards is sure to be as winningly entertaining as last year’s event. AIR’s new sponsor has also announced the inaugural Carlton Dry Global Music Grant, a joint-initiative will offer one award nominee $50,000 cash to be used exclusively in helping the artist tour, showcase, record or even temporarily relocate in order to further their career overseas.

The Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards will be held on Wednesday 9th October at the Revolt art space in Kensington, Melbourne (for the third year running) and will once again celebrate the achievements of the Australian indie artists, labels, and industry based on votes from online media, music press, broadcasters, and others from the indie music sector.

AIR Awards 2013 Nominations

Best Independent Artist
Big Scary
Dick Diver
Jagwar Ma
The Drones

Best Independent Album
Big Scary – Not Art (Pieater)
Dick Diver – Calendar Daus (Chapter Music)
Flume – Flume (Future Classic)
Jagwar Ma – Howlin (Future Classic)
The Drones – I Sea Seaweed (MGM)

Breakthrough Independent Artist of the Year
Courtney Barnett
Kirin J Callinan
Seth Sentry
The Rubens
Vance Joy

Best Independent Single Or EP
Big Scary – Luck Now (Pieater)
Courtney Barnett – History Eraser (Milk! Records)
Flume – Holdin’ On (Future Classic)
Jagwar Ma – Man I Need (Future Classic)
Vance Joy – God Loves You When You’re Dancing (Liberation Music)

Best Independent Hip Hop Album
Bliss n Eso – Circus In The Sky (Illusive)
Illy – Bring It Back (Obese Records)
Seth Sentry – This Was Tomorrow (High Score Records)
Spit Syndicate – Sunday Gentlemen (Obese Records)
Urthboy – Smokey’s Haunt (Elefant Traks)

Best Independent Country Album
Baylou – Go To Hell and I Love You (ABC Music)
Catherine Britt – Always Never Enough (ABC Music)
Karl Broadie – A Side B Side Seaside (WJO)
The Sunny Cowgirls – What We Do (WJO)
Lee Kernaghan – Beautiful Noise (ABC Music)

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album
Mama Kin – The Magician’s Daughter (MGM)
Mia Dyson – The Moment (MGM)
Paul Kelly – Spring And Fall (Gawd Aggie Recordings)
Tim Rogers – Rogers Sings Rogerstein (Four | Four)
The Cat Empire – Steal The Light (Two Shoes Record)

Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – 12 Bar Bruise (Flightless)
Kingswood – Change Of Heart (Capgun Kids)
Parkway Drive – Atlas (Resist Records)
The Mark Of Cain – Songs Of The Third and Fifth (Feel Presents)
The Smith Street Band – Sunshine And Technology (Poison City Records)

Best Independent Jazz Album
Allan Browne Trio – Lost In The Stars (Jazzhead)
Christopher Hale – Sylvan Coda (Which Way Music)
Jonathan Zwartz – The Remembering And Forgetting Of The Air (Planet)
Magnet – Magnet (Magnet Sounds)
Trichotomy – Fact Finding Mission (Jazzhead Records)

Best Independent Dance, Electronica Album
Collarbones – Die Young (Two Bright Lakes / Remote Control)
Flume – Flume (Future Classic)
Jagwar Ma – Howlin (Future Classic)
ShockOne – Universes (OneLove)
Yolanda Be Cool – Ladies And Mentalman (Sweat It Out)

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single
Charles Murdoch – Dekire featuring Oscar Key Sung (Future Classic)
Flight Facilities – Clair De Lune (feat. Christine Hoberg) (Independent / AWAL)
Flume – Holdin On (Future Classic)
Jagwar Ma – Man I Need (Future Classic)
RUFUS – Take Me (Sweat it Out)

AIR Awards 2013

Wednesday October 9th, 2013
Revolt, 12 Elizabeth Street, Kensington

with performances from
Violent Soho
Archie Roach
Big Scary
Seth Sentry

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine