With references to songwriting greats, and searingly honest reflections about the music industry and the modern world, James Reyne’s new long player Toon Town Lullaby was worth the wait.

Eight years in the making, Toon Town Lullaby follows over four decades of hit-making for the Victorian music heavyweight. 19 Top 40 hits – nine solo and seven with Australian Crawl, and three with Company Of Strangers – it came as no surprise when James Reyne was inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame in 1996.

Now, with his 12th studio album, Toon Town Lullaby proves he’s razor sharp as both a musician, songwriter and producer. “I’m gonna kick some tyres, and Light some fires, and Punch a hole in the sky,” he sings on the title track.

Stream James Reyne’s new album Toon Town Lullaby below, then read up on why the staff here at Tone Deaf love it so much.

Check out James Reyne’s Toon Town Lullaby:

“There’s no denying it’s been a few years between drinks for the great James Reyne, but even now, with Toon Town Lullaby serving as his first studio album since 2012, it’s clear he hasn’t missed a single beat.

“Featuring that world-class songwriting that made him a household name many decades ago, mixed with the powerful delivery fans have come to love and anticipate, Reyne is at his absolute best on this record, and it’s impossible to get enough.”
– Sid Finch

Toon Town Lullaby might be James Reyne’s 12th studio album (and first since 2012’s Thirteen), but it feels as mesmerising and fresh as the eagerly-awaited debut of any young rocker. With a masterful approach to his craft that would make any seasoned artist envious, it’s easy to see that this new record not only shows Reyne in his prime, but that it shows why he’s often considered one of Australia’s greatest musicians of all time.”
– Brittany Jenke

Love Country Music?

Get the latest Country Music news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

James Reyne – Toon Town Lullaby tracklist:

1. ‘Toon Town Lullaby’
2. ‘A Little Old Town South Of Bakersfield’
3. ‘Low Hanging Fruit’
4. ‘Burning Books’
5. ‘Calamity Jane’
6. ‘Trying To Write A Love Song’
7. ‘This Time’
8. ‘The Tallest Man I Ever Knew’
9. ‘Last Great Love Affair’
10. ‘Wrong Guy’

Never Again 2021 National Tour

featuring James Reyne & Mark Seymour

Friday, June 18th
QPAC, Concert Hall,Brisbane, QLD

Saturday, June 19th
Southport RSL, Gold Coast, QLD
*Ticket bundle not applicable to this show

Friday, June 25th
Ulumbarra Theatre, Bendigo, VIC

Saturday, June 26th
Ballarat Civic Hall, Ballarat, VIC

Friday, July 9th
The Gov, Adelaide, SA
*Ticket bundle not applicable to this show

Saturday, July 10th
The Gov, Adelaide, SA
*Ticket bundle not applicable to this show

Friday, August 13th
The Regal Theatre, Perth, WA

Saturday, August 14th
The Regal Theatre, Perth, WA

Friday, August 20th
The Metro, Sydney, NSW

Saturday, August 21st
The Metro, Sydney, NSW

Friday, September 10th
The Forum, Melbourne, VIC

Saturday, September 11th
The Forum, Melbourne, VIC

Tickets are on sale now via James Reyne’s website.