As previously detailed, the diversity of artists already listed as partaking in Queens Of The Stone Age’s forthcoming album include Sir Elton John, Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor, Jake Shears of Scissor Sisters, previous QOTSA collaborators Mark Lanegan and Nick Oliveri, and perhaps less surprisingly, Dave Grohl on drums.

Now added to the stellar array contributing to …Like Clockwork, due for release in June, comes Arctic Monkeys frontman Alex Turner.

The announcement was revealed via an illustrated press releaseissued in the same vein as previous media about the themes and title of the new album, cryptically and appropriately tongue-in-cheek. The release also states that, “as previously reported by the internets” the album includes, “drums by Dave Grohl, Joey Castillo and Jon Theodore,” former drummer for The Mars Volta.

It also confirms that James Lavelle, half of British trip-hop duo UNKLE, will feature on …Like Clockwork, and informs media and fans that the album was recorded by Mark Rankin at Pink Duck Studios in Burbank, California.

The press release follows on from former cryptic messages and clues hinting at the chronological title, Like Clockwork, as well as complimentary artwork, which were leaked to major music media networks including NME and MOJO  late last year, and more recently to Uncut Magazine (which you can view below).

The forthcoming QOTSA album is the group’s sixth, and the long awaited follow-up to 2007’s “Era Vulgaris.” The album will be released on independent label Matador, previously known for its pursuit of predominantly indie bands. Now added to the stellar array contributing to …Like Clockwork, due for release in June, comes Arctic Monkeys frontman Alex Turner.

The calibre of the acts due to feature on Like Clockwork appear to follow a QOTSA tradition of collaborating with a mixture of supremely talented artists, previously including ZZ Top member Billy Gibbons, Matt Cameron of Soundgarden and Pearl Jam, and The Strokes’ Julian Casablancas.

QOTSA’s third studio album,  Songs For The Deaf (2002) is a particularly strong example of this, not only featuring Grohl on drums for the first time, but also multi-instrumentalists Natasha Shneider and Alain Johannes of hard-rock band Eleven, and Jeordie White, the former bassist and guitarist for Marilyn Manson.

Plans for an “extensive” tour have also been announced according to NME, noting that while headline dates for the band’s tour have not yet been announced, QOTSA already appear on a string of festival lineups, starting with Lollapalooza Brazil this weekend (March 29-31).

European festival appearances for 2013 already include Download in the UK, Southside and Hurricane Festivals in Germany, Peace and Love Festival in Sweden, Rock The Beach in Finland, Rock A Field in Luxembourg, Roskilde in Denmark, Open’er Festival in Poland, and Benicàssim in Spain, and hopefully, the announcement of a series of Australian tour dates.

However, with the announcement of show dates and venues will also come the revelation of the band’s new touring drummer, as unfortunately, Grohl will not be touring with the band.

You can view the the band’s new logo on their website, with little annotation apart from the album’s planned release month, “June.”

QOTSA’s official website also features new audio clips (of about 5 sec a serving) that randomly play upon arrival, and thanks to an enterprising music fan on reddityou can listen to all seven separate audio clips to your heart’s content.

You can check out the QOTSA’s new press release, the (presumed) album artwork, along with the cryptic notes the band had sent press below.




Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine