After months of speculation and subtle hinting, the Arctic Monkey’s have announced their return with Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino, set for a release on Friday the 11th of May 2018. 

The album marks the British rock-legends first album since 2103’s critically acclaimed AM, which saw the band delve into modern territories, experimenting with sultry hip hop beats and heavier riffage.

Tranquillity Base Hotel & Casino was produced by James Ford and Alex Turner, the album was recorded in Los Angeles, Paris and London, with the band promising to “up the ante” in a big way, reflecting Turner’s bold and brilliant creative vision. 

Living up to their extravagance, the LP comes with a gatefold sleeve, lyric and photo booklet and exclusively via the AM Store, on silver vinyl. It will also be available on standard CD, vinyl and digitally.  You can pre-order the album via JB Hi-FiiTunes and pre-save on Spotify here.

Now, if you thought the name Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino sounded a little out there, take a look at the tracklisting that features songs named ‘The World’s First Ever Monster Truck Front Flip’ and ‘The Ultracheese’. 

1.     Star Treatment

2.     One Point Perspective

3.     American Sports

4.     Tranquillity Base Hotel & Casino

5.     Golden Trunks

6.     Four Out Of Five

7.     The World’s First Ever Monster Truck Front Flip

8.     Science Fiction

9.     She Looks Like Fun

10.  Batphone

11.  The Ultracheese

We can expect the Arctic Monkeys to hit Australian shores soon, with the band playing a slew of festivals in Europe and US, including Mad Cool Festival, Spain and Lollapalooza Festival, Chicago, before taking a sizable gap during the Splendour In The Grass period. The lineup drops next Wednesday, April 11th so don’t be too surprised when you see the enduring rock act billed amongst the highest ranks to get the party going.

Check out a teaser of the album below, that features an old-school style string arrangement and cold-war era-evoking graphics – probably quite a hint as to what the album will sound like.

YouTube VideoPlay

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine