Corey Taylor has declared that his first solo album is “done”, exciting fans of Slipknot and Stone Sour around the globe.

The album will contain a whopping 25 tracks, he declared when chatting with Halestorm’s Lzzy Hale on the ‘Raise Your Horns’ segment of the We Are Hear podcast.

“I secretly recorded my first solo album. I did with the band I’ve been using for my solo shows for years, and just a bunch of people that I’ve been working with forever,” he said.

The writing and recording process saw Taylor work with a stack of legends, from Stone Sour’s Christian Martucci to Zach Throne from Corey Taylor & Friends, plus bass player Jason Christopher and drummer Dustin Schoenhofer.

He revealed several of the songs were originally written for Slipknot or Stone Sour, but things didn’t work out, so he held onto them.

“All the songs are things that I’ve written over the years but they didn’t really fit with either band. So it’s stuff that I’ve just kind of been sitting on,” said Taylor. “And I’ve been kind of talking about doing a solo album anyway, and I was just, like, ‘This is the perfect time to do it.'”

Taylor previously said his album wouldn’t arrive before 2021, so this latest news is hope that quarantine has sped up the process.

Last month the Slipknot frontman said he strongly believes the music industry will come back stronger than ever after the coronavirus pandemic is under control. “If we do it right and we build that enthusiasm, probably within a year, maybe a year and a half, we’ll see the same enthusiasm for live shows that we did before,” he told Rock Feed.

“Because I think once people realize that everything is okay, people are gonna realize that they take for granted the fact that they haven’t been to a live show in a long time, and the live concert experience will be something that people come back to.”

We also saw Taylor show off his philanthropy chops recently, when he auctioned off a stack of guitars from his personal collection, raising $150K for COVID-19 relief in the process.

Check out ‘Neo Forte’ by Corey Taylor’s Slipnot: