“There’s beauty in imperfection,” say Jetty Road (Lee Bowman, Paula Bowman and Julian Sammut) when talking about their latest single ‘Bumps & Bruises’ and new album Because We Can, which was released last Friday.

It’s a great summation of the entire album, which focuses very heavily on sentiment, contentment and reflection.

Because We Can is an 8 track collection featuring the singles, ‘Because We Can’, ‘No Heartbreaks’, and the recently released ‘Bumps and Bruises’ which they call an “anthem for the everyday person.”

“We quickly realised that this was an anthem for the everyday person. The ups and downs, the good and bad decisions, the baggage we carry with us throughout our lives, the blood, sweat and tears, the triumphs and the heartaches,” says Jetty Road.

Because We Can is the band’s sixth album and first since 2015.

Brooke McClymont is a co-writer on two of the songs – ‘Heart of Mine’ and ‘This is Us,’ while ‘Soakin’ Up the Sun’ was written with Nashville-based Aussie, Chris Pelcer.

The rest of the tracks were written entirely by the band themselves.

Check out ‘Bumps and Bruises’ by Jetty Road

YouTube VideoPlay

This time around, Jetty Road engaged highly passionate multi-instrumentalist Michael Carpenter to be the album’s producer.

The band credit him for rejuvenating the Jetty Road sound and giving them a new lease on life.

“This album has been a labour of love for us. Taking on producer Michael Carpenter for the project was also the perfect fit and we’re absolutely thrilled with the result. We still sound like Jetty Road, but totally invigorated!” say Jetty Road.

2020 will mark 15 years that two-time Golden Guitar winners have been together as a band.