Despite the wider internet and music media being Daft Punked by a series of fakes, remixes, and cut-ups of ‘Get Lucky’, the lead single from the Parisian pair’s highly anticipated forth studio album, Random Access Memories, the official radio edit of the single has turned up on the US iTunes store (which you can hear in the banner).

iTunes: Daft Punk – Random Access Memories

The funkified new single (first heard in the 15 second teaser aired during Saturday Night Live) features NERD’s Pharrell Williams and the guitar work fo producer/composer/arranger of all things good Nile Rodgers, who were both confirmed to appear on the album in both the teaser confirming the album’s A-list collaborators during Coachella 2013 and the spate of recent making-of videos featuring interviews with Random Access Memories all-star cast – including disco legend Giorgio Moroder and house producer Todd Edwards.

The album also features the talents of Animal Collective’s Panda Bear, Strokes frontman Julian Casablancas, famed songwriter Paul Williams, and DJ Falcon, who contributes to the album’s closing track which features the album’s “only sample” according to Daft Punk, which is of an “Australian rock record” revealed to be none other than Daryl Braithwaite’s old 70s band, The Sherbs.

Another confirmed contributor, N.E.R.D’s Pharrell Williams, recently appeared on the latest instalment of The Collaboratorsa series of videos released by Daft Punk (with VICE and Intel’s Creator Project) leaking information about the new record.

In the new video interview, Williams says the Parisian pair “aren’t bound by time and space,” and having caught them at one of Madonna’s party, offered his services; saying, “just know that anything you guys need I’m always there – even if you just want me to play a tambourine… I’ll do it.”

There are also more colourful suggestions in the video, with Williams claiming that once the project was underway, he was given “this tablet you put in water,” to reduce the effects of jetlag, ultimately making him forget everything that had happened in Paris recording with the duo.

As yet, Daft Punk apparently (and unfortunately) have “no current plans,” of touring their fourth album. “We want to focus everything on the act and excitement of listening to the album,” they professed to Rolling Stone.

Random Access Memories will get its official launch in our own backyard. The tiny NSW town of Wee Waa has been unexpectedly put on the map with the news that Daft Punk’s launch party will be held at the annual Wee Waa Show on 17th May.

“We’re still pinching ourselves. We don’t know why, but why not?” says Wee Waa Show Society president Brett Dickinson of Daft Punk choosing the rural town for their global airing.

Some enterprising festival organisers have also co-ordinated Weekend Vines, a two-day after party that features a range of local and international electronic artists, sating those reeling from the afterglow of the Random Access Memories premiere at a winery near the town of Wee Waa.

You can pre-order the album on CD & vinyl here , and view artwork and full tracklist credits below:

Random Access Memories tracklist
Album line-up:
1- Nile Rodgers (Guitar), Paul Jackson, Jr. (Guitar) – 4:34
2- Instrumental – 5:21
3- Giorgio Moroder (Synth) – 9:04
4- Chilly Gonzales (Piano) – 3:48
5- Julian Casablancas (Vocals) – 5:37
6- Nile Rodgers (Guitar), Pharrell Williams (Vocals) – 5:53
7- Paul WIlliams (Vocals and Lyrics) – 8:18
8- Nile Rodgers (Guitar), Pharrel Williams (Vocals) – 6:07
9- Paul Williams (Lyrics) – 4:50
10- Instrumental – 5:41
11- Todd Edwards (Vocals) – 4:39
12- Noah Benjamin Lennox (Panda Bear, Animal Collective – Vocals) – 4:11
13- DJ FALCON – 6:21

01. Give Life Back to Music (ft. Nile Rodgers)
02. The Game of Love
03. Giorgio by Moroder (ft. Giorgio Moroder)
04. Within (ft. Chilly Gonzales)
05. Instant Crush (ft. Julian Casablancas)
06. Lose Yourself to Dance (ft. Pharrell Williams & Nile Rodgers)
07. Touch (ft. Paul Williams)
08. Get Lucky (ft. Pharrell Williams & Nile Rodgers)
09. Beyond
10. Motherhood
11. Fragments of Time (ft. Todd Edwards)
12. Doin’ It Right (ft. Panda Bear)
13. Contact (ft. DJ Falcon)

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine