More album news today, following the announcement of a collaboration between Yoko Ono and members of Sonic Youth; fans of choppy guitars, dancefloor-ready beats and indie credentials can rejoice, as today sees the announcement of a new album from North Ireland’s Two Door Cinema Club.

Beacon is the name of the band’s anticipated sophomore album, following on from their impressive 2010 debut, Tourist History. The album was completed last April, when the trio of Alex Trimble, Kevin Baird and Sam Halliday travelled to LA to work with acclaimed producer Jacknife Lee at his home studios.

Lee’s previously been credited with lending his expertise to the likes of like-minded indie heavyweights Bloc Party, as well as the world-dominating U2 and R.E.M. (R.I.P.).

“Working with Jacknife Lee was a joy and a pleasure,” says singer/guitarist Alex Trimble in a press release, “he shared our goals and played a huge part in putting the pieces together in the right way. This is an exciting time for us and we can’t wait to share the songs with everyone.”

We can’t either, and the record is due to be released on September 7 through Cooperative Music and hip French label Kitsuné, who originally signed the band after only two singles and a single Glastonbury appearance.

The trio are promising are more ambitious listen than their energetic debut urging that “Beacon is a much more intimate record than our first, but at the same time, it’s much bigger and more inclusive. Trying to find that balance has been our goal for a long time and this record takes us one step closer to the band we’ve dreamt of becoming.”

The group have already achieved critical and commercial success as one of the more successful breakthrough bands of recent years, following Tourist History achieving Platinum status in both their native Ireland and the UK; along with scooping awards and selling out shows internationally on a regular basis. Including their visit to Australia as part of 2010’s Splendour In The Grass, and a handful of dates last year.

Beacon looks set to begin a giddy new chapter in the band’s history, with a broader maturity in songs and sound.

There’s also the obligatory album teaser (definitely a trend this year), which you can view after the tracklist below.


1. Next Year
2. Handshake
3. Wake Up
4. Sun
5. Someday
6. Sleep Alone
7. The World Is Watching (with Valentina)
8. Settle
9. Spring
10. Pyramid
11. Beacon

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine