It seemed to work wonders in album sales for Daft Punk, David Bowie, and especially Justin Timberlake, and now Josh Homme’s desert rock banditos are lookin to join the club of musicians utilising iTunes in the lead-up to their album release.

Following on from releasing a gory 15-minute animated movie to whet fan’s appetites, Queens Of The Stone Age’s highly anticipated sixth studio album, …Like Clockwork, is streaming in full on iTunes.

Featuring musical contributions from QOTSA regulars, Dave Grohl, Mark Lanegan, and estranged bassist Nick Oliveri, and Trent Reznor, …Like Clockwork has also driven expectation levels to delirious heights with all-star cameos from Arctic Monkey Alex Turner, Scissor Sisters’ Jake Shears, UNKLE’s James Lavelle, and Sir Elton John.

The new album sees the perennial rock band moving into darker territory, with brooding atmospheres and moody soundscapes meeting with a 70s infused brand of searing rock. Last week’s animated mini-movie, gave a niece preview of …Like Clockwork, airing new songs ‘I Appear Missing’, ‘Kalopsia’, ‘If I Had A Tail’, ‘Keep Your Eyes Peeled’, and lead single ‘My God Is The Sun’ all included in the 15 minute video.

Principal QOTSA figure, Josh Homme has revealed the record is ”an audio documentary of a manic year,” with …Like Clockwork the band’s first full length since 2007′s Era Vulgaris. 

The band have also let slip that they will be skipping the Aussie summer festival calendar entirely, and instead will be touching down for their own headline tour post-festival season in 2014. Homme himself told Triple J Magazinewriter Samantha Clode the news earlier in the month, and the tour in 2014 could potentially mark a year on from the release of …Like Clockwork.

But while the likes of Big Day Out or Soundwave would seem likely candidates (both having featured Queens of the Stone Age in the past) and the band playing international festivals, such as Germany’s Southside and Hurricane festivals, Netherlands’ Pinkpop, UK’s Download, and the Chicago-based Lollapalooza, it was only reasonable for Australian fans to begin wondering what Aussie music festival would be able to bring over the band.

The current lineup of QOTSA features linchpin Joshua Homme, guitarist Troy Van Leewuen, multi-instrumentalist Dean Fertita, and bassist Michael Shuman, and while Foo Fighter Dave Grohl filled in on the drum stool for the recording of the latest QOTSA opus, he won’t be joining the band for their extensive tour schedule for the rest of the year.

Filling in on skin-hammering duties is none other than Jon Theodore, the former Mars Volta member and Zach de la Rocha’s co-conspirator in side-project One Day As A Lion, who also contributed to the sixth QOTSA record.

Listen to …Like Clockwork in full on iTunes HERE or by clicking the album art below:

1. Keep Your Eyes Peeled
2. I Sat By The Ocean
3. The Vampyre of Time and Memory
4. If I Had A Tail
5. My God Is The Sun
6. Kalopsia
7. Fairweather Friends
8. Smooth Sailing
9. I Appear Missing
10. …Like Clockwork

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine