It looks like Neil Young is finally ready to release his shelved 1975 record, Homegrown. 

The folk legend recorded the majority of the album back in 1974, and had originally planned to release it in 1975, but, for lack of a better term, chickened out.  “It was a little too personal,” Young told Cameron Crowe of Rolling Stone interview at the time. “It scared me. I’ve never released any of those. And I probably never will. I think I’d be too embarrassed to put them out. They’re a little too real.”

Thankfully, it looks as though Young has had a change of tune. According to his website Neil Young Archives, the album will arrive on the 19th of June. You can find the official tracklist and album artwork below.

Young has used his time in isolation to dig through the archives, as well as his plans to release Homegrown, he will also gift fans with a Greendale live album and film, a 1990 Crazy Horse club show and aa late Eighties rarities set he’s calling Road of Plenty.

Over the past few weeks of isolation, Young has been keeping busy sharing acoustic performance videos shot and edited by his wife Daryl Hannah. The fourth instalment of Fireside Session arrived yesterday, the 37-minute session saw Young perform eight songs: ‘One Of These Days’, ‘Good To See You’, ‘Daddy Went Walkin”, ‘After The Goldrush’, ‘Mother Earth’, Distant Camera’, ‘Are You Ready For The Country’ and the first-ever public performance of ‘Through My Sails’.

The coronavirus pandemic forced Young to cancel his planned tour with Crazy Horse, scheduled to take place this year. In a blog post, Young shared that he wasn’t feeling optimistic about the return of live music. “It could be two years, maybe more, until the next live show,” he wrote to a fan. “That is a sobering thought.”

Check out Homegrown by Neil Young:

Neil Young, Homegrown

Neil Young, Homegrown 

01 “Separate Ways”
02 “Try”
03 “Mexico”
04 “Love Is A Rose”
05 “Homegrown”
06 “Florida”
07 “Kansas”
08 “We Don’t Smoke It No More”
09 “White Line”
10 “Vacancy”
11 “Little Wing”
12 “Star Of Bethlehem”