Every day we’re faced with an onslaught of album announcements so we thought we’d start sharing the soon-to-be-released love by putting together a list of the most notable and exciting album announcements on a weekly basis.

This week’s features the first release in five years from a 13-year in the making sequel to the album that made him famous from Eminem,  the debut from Gossling, the anticipated follow up for Papa Vs. Pretty and more!

The Marshall Mathers LP 2

Guess who’s back, back again? Shady’s back, For real this time, you guys! Eminem has announced during the MTV VMA awards in two Beats By Dre commercials that the release the sequel to 2000’s  The Marshall Mathers LP is a’comin’. The record is produced by Dr. Dre and Rick Rubin.

Do we don’t know too much about the record other than this, other than what we can hear in the first single from The Marshall Mathers LP 2, titled “Berzerk”, which is available now and you can watch the video here.

It seems our boy Shady is opting for hard-core hip-hop with more samples than we’d care to count, his famously satirical pop culture references, and that angry as ever delivery. We can’t wait!

Marshall Mathers Lp 2 is out November 5th through Aftermath Entertainment/Interscope Record

Love Eminem?

Get the latest Eminem news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

Tracklisting not yet available.

Harvest of Gold

Along with the announcement of what’s sure to be one of the most anticipated debut local albums of the year,  we’ve also learnt that Gossling’s new single  ‘Never Expire’  has dropped. Gossling’s mesmerising sound knows no boundaries, with her unique and enchanting voice deeply embedded both at home and abroad.

Sonically speaking, Harvest Of Gold is rich and impressively realised; far exceeding the expectation of a dazzling debutante. But with three acclaimed EPs already in her stride, the harvest is more than ready.

Recorded in May 2013 at Melbourne’s The Shed Studios, the album boasts a host of respected collaborators, including producer John Castle (The Drones, The Bamboos, Washington), Sparkadia’s Alexander Burnett and Oh Mercy frontman Alexander Gow.

Harvest Of Gold is out November 1st through Dew Process/Universal Music Australia

Tracklisting not yet available.

Papa Vs. Pretty
White Deer Park

White Deer Park, 
is the sophomore album from Papa vs Pretty, and was produced by Dave Trumfio (Wilco, My Morning Jacket, Grandaddy), recorded at Studios 301 in Sydney and Forgotten Valley Studios and mixed at Kingsize Sound Labs in Los Angeles.

It marks the band’s follow up to their critically acclaimed, ARIA award nominated debut album from 2011 United In Isolation.

First single ‘My Life Is Yours’, a soaring song of cascading melodies – which caps off an album that represents the cream skimmed from the top of year’s worth of experimentation.

Fans will be able to hear songs from the new album in person as Papa vs Pretty announce My Life Is Yours single launches in Sydney and Melbourne in September. How exciting!

White Deer Park is out February 2014 through EMI

Tracklisting not yet available.

Mayday Parade
Monsters In The Closet

Monsters In The Closet 
was recorded with producers Kenneth Mount and Zack Odem (All Time Low, The Summer Set, We Are The In Crowd) and is Mayday Parade’s fourth studio album.

Since their inception Mayday Parade have honed their patented style of catchy, kinetic pop-punk with an outpour of real rock energy. The Florida quintet knows its identity, but have more excitement for the future with the new album.

Monsters In The Closet  is a collection of everything the group’s fervent fan base loves about Mayday Parade. Evincing evolution in songwriting, the band’s growth shines through shimmering soaring hooks throughout the unshakable, heart-felt collection of songs. 

Monsters In The Closet is out October 11th via Fearless/Shock Records. 

1. Ghosts
2. Girls
3. Last Night For A Table For Two
4. 12 Through 15
5. The Torment Of Existence Weighed Against The Horror Of Nonbeing
6. Even Robots Need Blankets
7. Repent And Repeat
8. Demons
9. Sorry, Not Sorry
10. Nothing You Can Live Without, Nothing You Can Do About
11. Hold Onto Me
12. Angels


As Pitchfork
reports, last week Nicolas Jaar and Dave Harrington premiered their new Darkside album. Today, via Jaar’s Other People, they’ve shared the first 11 minutes of that album.

This is their first release since the duo dropped their full-album remix of Daft Punk’s Random Access Memories. You can listen to the album teaser by clicking here.

The project hasm’t stopped Jaar from keeping up his own solo projects, having visited Australia as well as most other parts of the world this year as well as having his BBC Essential Mix voted as the best of the year for 2012.

Darkside’s album will be available for official release through Clown & Sunset.


1. Golden Arrow

2. Sitra

3. Heart

4. Paper Trails

5. The Only Shrine I’ve Seen

6. Freak, Go Home

7. Greek Light

8. Metatron

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine