Every day we’re faced with an onslaught of album announcements so we thought we’d start sharing the soon-to-be-released love by putting together a list of the most notable and exciting album announcements on a weekly basis. This week’s features Brisbane five-piece Dead Letter Circus’ much anticipated new release, the super-hyped Babyshambles record, some hardcore tunes from Avenged Sevenfold, Belle & Sebastian rarities and b-sides, and more.

Avenged Sevenfold
Hail To The King

The Californian band are back with their sixth studio album set to be released in a few months.

Frontman M. Shadows has admitted that the record’s sound is much more influenced by classic rock like Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin than their previous works.

Produced by Mike Elizondo, Hail To The King is the follow up to the band’s 2010 release, Nightmare, which debuted at number one on the Billboard Top 200 Album Chart, Hard Rock Chart, and Digital Chart and #9 on the ARIA chart.

As a treat for fans, snippets of the record can be listened to here.

Hail To The King will be available August 23rd through Warner Music.

Tracklisting not yet available. 

Sequel To The Prequel

In addition to the recent announcement that English garage rockers Babyshambles are gracing our shores for their inaugural Australian performances for  Splendour In The Grass later this year, the band are making headlines again, as they have a third album coming, their first record since 2007′s Shotter’s Nation.

According to NME, the album was originally intended to be frontman Pete Doherty’s second solo release, following Grace/Wastelands, released in 2009.

After working closely with Stephen Street, the producer responsible for Shotter’s Nation (as well as Blur’sModern Life is Rubbish and The Smith’s Strangeways, Here We Come) the sessions transformed into work for Babyshambles’ third album.

Sequel To The Prequel will be available August 30th through Parlaphone.

‘Nothing Comes To Nothing’
‘New Pair’
‘Farmer’s Daughter’
‘Sequel To The Prequel’
‘Dr. No’
‘Picture Me In A Hospital’
‘Seven Shades Of Nothing’

Loud Like Love

Placebo’s dark and melodic trademark sound, featuring singer Brian Molko’s instantly recognisable vocals, has become one of the strongest music brands in recent times, and fans can now look forward to another studio release.

Their last studio album, Battle For The Sun, went to No. 1 in ten countries and reached top 5 in 20 countries,  and marked a one of the band’s most critically acclaimed releases to date.

The first single from the album ‘Too Many Friends’ is set for release on July 8th, and will serve as the world’s introduction to Loud Like Love.
Let the countdown begin!

Loud Like Love will be available September 13th through  Caroline/ Universal.

01 Loud Like Love
02 Scene Of The Crime
03 Too Many Friends
04 Hold On To Me
05 Rob The Bank
06 A Million Little Pieces
07 Exit Wounds
08 Purify
09 Begin The End
10 Bosco

Dead Letter Circus
The Catalyst Fire

The Catalyst Fire is the follow up to Dead Letter Circus’ hit debut album  2010’s This Is The Warning which peaked at #2 on the ARIA Charts and wascertified as a gold record earlier this year.

It was nominated for an ARIA Award and was voted as one of the triple j’s Hottest 100 Albums of All Time, and catapulted the Brisbane five-piece to the forefront of the Australian Rock world.

Now, fans can look forward to the follow up.

Along with the LP, the band are also releasing a Facebook App titled which  will deliver fans a piece of quality content related to the album every day, for the 38 days leading up to the release.

Catalyst Fire will be released August 9th through UNFD.

Tracklisting not yet available. 

Belle & Sebastian
Third Eye Centre

Everyone’s favourite Scottish twee band will release a compilation of b-sides, rarities and electro remixes ate this year.

The 19-track set culls material recorded around the time of 2003’s Dear Catastrophe Waitress, 2006’s The Life Pursuit, and 2010’s Write About Love. The upcoming compilation will be available in CD, digital, and double-vinyl formats.

The compilation features remixes from The Avalanches , Miaoux Miaoux, and Richard X and will be essential listening for any diehard Belle & Sebastian fan.

Third Eye Centre will be released August 27th through Matador Records. 

1. “I’m a Cuckoo (Avalanches Remix)”
2. “Suicide Girl”
3. “Love on the March”
4. “Last Trip”
5. “Your Secrets”
6. “Your Cover’s Blown (Miaoux Miaoux Remix)”
7. “I Took a Long Hard Look”
8. “Heaven in the Afternoon”
9. “Long Black Scarf”
10. “The Eighth Station of the Cross Kebab House”
11. “I Didn’t See It Coming (Richard X Mix)”
12. “(I Believe in) Travellin’ Light”
13. “Stop, Look and Listen”
14. “Passion Fruit”
15. “Desperation Made a Fool of Me”
16. “Blue Eyes of a Millionaire”
17. “Mr. Richard”
18. “Meat and Potatoes”
19. “The Life Pursuit” 

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine