Every day we’re faced with an onslaught of album announcements so we thought we’d start sharing the soon-to-be-released love by putting together a list of the most notable and exciting album announcements on a weekly basis. This week’s features the much anticipated debut LP from Earl Sweatshirt, the fourth effort from psych-rockers The Polyphonic Spree, and some local releases from The Jungle Giants, and Tigertown.

The Polyphonic Spree
Yes, It’s True

Part euphoric church choir, part day-glo rock musical supergroup, The Polyphonic Spree, has returned with their fourth studio album.

Yes, It’s True is their first original album since 2007. Backed by a Kickstarter campaign that saw fans pledge $136,505 in the space of less than two months, The Polyphonic Spree were able to create the record they wanted to with nothing held back.

You Don’t Know Me’ opens the record with a driving drumbeat, drenched in a wall of sound full of meandering orchestral instrumentation

Yes, It’s True is out later this year through Create/Control.

1. Section 33 (You Don’t Know Me)
2. Section 34 (Popular By Design)
3. Section 35 (Hold Yourself Up)
4. Section 36 (Carefully Try)
5. Section 37 (You’re Golden)
6. Section 38 (Heart Talk)
7. Section 39 (Blurry Up The Lines)
8. Section 40 (Let Them Be)
9. Section 41 (Raise Your Head)
10. Section 42 (What Would You Do?)
11. Section 43 (Battlefield)

London Grammar
If You Wait

Since introducing themselves with near anonymous posts of two songs, ‘Hey Now’ and ‘Metal & Dust’ late last year, London Grammar quickly captured the interest, and more importantly, the imagination of music
fans across the globe.

The band is currently the number one most blogged about artist, so it’s no understatement that London Grammar’s forthcoming album is one of the most highly anticipated debuts this year.

Striving for the best possible result, they drafted in Roc Nation’s KD (Outkast, Beyoncé, JayZ) to mix the record, alongside Grammy-winning Tom Coyne (Adele’s 21) from Sterling, joining them to master. We can’t wait to hear the finished product!

If You Wait is out September 6th through Dew Process

1. Hey Now
2. Stay Awake
3. Shyer
4. Wasting My Young Years
5. Sights
6. Strong
7. Nightcall
8. Metal & Dust
9. Interlude
10. Flickers
11. If You Wait

Earl Sweatshirt

In true 21st century style, the rapper took to Twitter recently to announce his major label debut LP.

The announcement comes three years after his debut mix tape, Earl, introduced the world to one of the most talented and exciting voices in music.

Earl worked with producers such as Pharrell, RZA, BADBADNOTGOOD, and Tyler, The Creator, while also receiving guest verses from Odd Future cohorts Frank Ocean, Domo Genesis, and Tyler, The Creator, as well as LA-based rappers Vince Staples, Casey Veggies, and Mac Miller.

Watch the video for ‘Hive’ feat. Vince Staples and Casey Veggies here. 

Doris is out August 20th an Cressida/Columbia and Sony.

1. Pre (feat. SK La’ Flare)
2. Burgundy (feat. Vince Staples)
3. 20 Wave Caps (feat. Domo Genesis)
4. Sunday (feat. Frank Ocean)
5. Hive (feat. Vince Staples and Casey Veggies)
6. Chum
7. Sasquatch (feat. Tyler, The Creator)
8. Centurion (feat. Vince Staples)
9. 523
10. Uncle Al
11. Guild (feat. Mac Miller)
12. Molasses (feat. RZA)
13. Whoa (feat. Tyler, The Creator)
14. Hoarse
15. Knight (feat. Domo Genesis)

Wandering Eyes

Having just completed a run of stellar performances, delivering sold out shows in Adelaide, Brisbane and Sydney on their ‘What You Came Here For’ national tour, Tigertown have announced their third EP.

Following on from sparkling gems such as ‘Go Now’, ‘Lions and Witches’ and ‘Morning Has Finally Come’, the EP features current radio favourite, ‘What You Came Here For’, once again proving the collective’s dexterity for penning a radio hit, while further delivering a body of work which unravels beautifully with each repeated listen.

Wandering Eyes is out August 9th through  MGM.

1. Weary One
2. What You Came Here For
3. Back In Time
4. Wandering Eyes
5. Ghost

The Jungle Giants
Learn To Exist

On the eve of their performances at Splendour in the Grass and Spin Off festivals, The Jungle Giants are delighted to reveal release and pre-order details for their highly-anticipated debut album.

The album, which includes current single ‘I Am What You Want Me To Be’ and 2012’s ‘She’s A Riot’, is available for pre-order now.

The CD version of the album comes as a deluxe wallet with two reversible cover inserts and a fold out poster. The vinyl version of Learn To Exist will be pressed on limited edition orange vinyl.

Learn To Exist is out August 30th.

1. Come And Be Alone With Me
2. I Am What You Want Me To Be
3. Got Nothing To Lose
4. A Pair Of Lovers
5. Truth May Hurt
6. Devil’s In The Detail
7. Skin To Bone
8. She’s A Riot
9. Domesticated Man
10. Anywhere Else
11. Home

Tired Pony
The Ghost Of The Mountain

The supergroup headed up by Snow Patrol’s Gary Lightbody – will release their second album next month.

Peter Buck (R.E.M.), Iain Archer, Richard Colburn, Scott McCaughey, Troy Stewart and producer/multi-instrumentalist Garret “Jacknife” Lee were originally put together by Lightbody to realise his long-standing ambition of making an Americana album for The Place We Ran From. 

But this second album shows a much wider range of textures and influences. Woven into the songs is the narrative of two characters dealing with an unforgivable act that has changed both of their lives. Prepare to have your head and your heart pulled every which way.

The Ghost Of The Mountain is out August 16th through Polydor/Universal.


  1. I Don’t Want You As A Ghost
  2. I’m Begging You Not To Go
  3. Blood
  4. The Creak In The Floorboards
  5. All Things All At Once
  6. Wreckage And Bone
  7. The Beginning Of The End
  8. Carve Our Names
  9. Ravens and Wolves
  10. Punishment
  11. The Ghost Of The Mountain
  12. Your Way Is The Way Home

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine