System of a Down have announced a livestream event to raise money for injured soldiers in Artsakh and Armenia.

After having already raised USD $600,000 for the Armenia Fund with the release of their protest songs ‘Protect the Land’ and ‘Genocidal Humanoidz’, the band will perform via livestream on Saturday, January 30th.

The band took to Instagram to explain that Armenian soldiers are in “dire” need of funds for their rehabilitation.

“The freedom fighting soldiers of Artsakh and Armenia have suffered war crimes at the hands of Azerbaijan, later abetted by Turkey,” they began.

​They continued: “Even after the ceasefire signed on November 10, 2020, those heroes wounded in the recent conflict remain in dire need of prosthetics, advanced treatment, and medical care.”

“We are hosting a fundraising livestream event in order to raise money to rehabilitate and outfit the nearly 1,000 soldiers who have lost arms and legs with life-changing prosthetic limbs. The funding will also benefit the introduction of groundbreaking laser therapy for the treatment of white phosphorous chemical burns and the reduction of scarring and agonizing pain. All proceeds from the livestream will be donated to this cause.”

The event will be held via System of a Down’s official YouTube channel, and will be followed by the video premiere for ‘Genocidal Humanoidz’.

Love Metal?

Get the latest Metal news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

“We welcome you, along with our list of special guests, to join us this Saturday, January 30, at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern [4am AEDT] to support our efforts… we look forward to seeing you this weekend.”

Check out the full Instagram post by System of a Down announcing the livestream: