With just over two weeks to go until we receive the first album in 13 years from Tool, the band have now raised excitement levels again, unleashing the record’s official tracklist.

Just last week, Tool unveiled their first new song since 2006. Dubbed ‘Fear Inoculum’, the tune is the title track from their upcoming album, which is set to be released on August 30th.

A highly-anticipated release for the band, the album comes after a wild few weeks for the band which saw their back catalogue debut on streaming services, while their entire discography managed to make it into the ARIA charts over the weekend.

Now, with just a couple of weeks to go before the band release their new album, the official tracklist has now dropped thanks a few early reviews of the record.

As Metal Injection reports, a number of reporters were invited to an exclusive listening party of the upcoming album in New York last month, with writers allowed to take notes on each song.

In addition to giving a track-by-track review of the record, it was revealed that physical editions of the album will feature seven tracks, while digital editions will feature a trio of extra segue tunes mixed into the record.

While ‘Litanie Contre La Peur’, ‘Legion Inoculant’, and ‘Mockingbeat’ serve as segues, listeners will be treated to the likes of ‘Pneuma’, ‘Culling Voices’, and the interestingly-named ‘Chocolate Chip Trip’. These songs also appear alongside the title track, and the live favourites ‘Invincible’ and ‘Descending’.

However, fans appear to be hanging out for ‘7empest’ the most. At close to 20 minutes, it’s the longest song in the band’s catalogue, and saw Loudwire labelling the track the “best thing Adam Jones has ever recorded.”

Check out the tracklists below, and give another listen to the title track while you’re here.

Check out ‘Fear Inoculum’ by Tool:

YouTube VideoPlay

Fear Inoculum tracklist:

Physical Edition:

1. ‘Fear Inoculum’
2. ‘Pneuma’
3. ‘Invincible’
4. ‘Descending’
5. ‘Culling Voices’
6. ‘Chocolate Chip Trip’
7. ‘7empest’

Digital Edition:

1. ‘Fear Inoculum’
2. ‘Pneuma’
3. ‘Litanie contre la Peur’
4. ‘Invincible’
5. ‘Legion Inoculant’
6. ‘Descending’
7. ‘Culling Voices’
8. ‘Chocolate Chip Trip’
9. ‘7empest’
10. ‘Mockingbeat’

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine