Community radio music directors often have an encyclopedic knowledge of local music and an insatiable thirst to keep their ears ahead of the curve. So in this Tone Deaf series, the Australian Music Radio Airplay Project (Amrap) invites music directors to highlight new Aussie tunes that you might have missed.

In this edition, Aeron Clark from Edge Radio in Hobart contributes with a selection of tracks currently making their way to community radio through Amrap’s music distribution service ‘AirIt’.

Check out Aeron’s selections below and if you’re a musician you can apply here to have your music distributed for free to community radio on Amrap’s AirIt.

Press Club – ‘Headwreck’

Melbourne four-piece Press Club have gotten straight to the point with their blistering debut single ‘Headwreck’. Our first taste of the band is a tightly packaged two and a half minutes of commanding, energetic punk, recorded as a single take and brimming with brashness.

YouTube VideoPlay

Ani Lou – ‘Ascend’

‘Eralda’, the debut EP from Tasmania’s Ani Lou, is a nuanced collection of densely layered, melancholic soundscapes. Ethereal lead single ‘Ascend’ swells with yearning, as Kate Southorn’s delicate, fluid vocals speak of unfulfilled dreams and ponder the enormity of life.

YouTube VideoPlay

Hello Satellites – ‘Hello Lover’

‘Hello Lover’ is the first taste of a new album from Melbourne’s Hello Satellites, which has evolved over the last seven years from a solo project to a six piece collective, led by Eva Popov. Two part female vocal harmonies soar skilfully over muted instrumentation in this subtle pop gem.

YouTube VideoPlay

Batpiss – ‘Weatherboard Man’

‘Weatherboard Man’ is an arresting dose of dirge-rock from Melbourne trio Batpiss, who are gearing up for the release of their third album in July. Fittingly produced and mixed by Gareth Liddiard, this is a booming, gritty musing on societal injustice.

YouTube VideoPlay

Violet – ‘(wo)man’

Under the Violet moniker, Sydney’s Jessica Meier produces textured, cinematic pop that is consistently thought-provoking. Previous works have dealt with compelling subjects such as white guilt and the Bosnian war, and new single ‘(wo)man’ explores historical and modern aspects of gender inequality.

Maddy Jane – ‘No Other Way’

‘No Other Way’ is the newest dose of invigorating stomp-pop from Bruny Island native Maddy Jane Woolley. Conversational lyrics are combined with shimmering guitar hooks, upbeat percussion and Maddy’s charismatic vocal delivery in a way that’s likely to get stuck in your head for hours.

YouTube VideoPlay

Workhorse – ‘Alone’

Workhorse are an alt-country six-piece from Adelaide, led by Harriet Fraser-Barbour of Wireheads. ‘Alone’ is taken from their debut cassette release, ‘No Sun’, and delivers a hefty dose of laid back, sun drenched guitar twang, with a dash of dream pop courtesy of Fraser-Barbour’s hazy vocals.

Mere Women – ‘Eternally’

‘Eternally’ is the cavernous opening track from Sydney post punk four-piece Mere Women’s third album, ‘Big Skies’. Amy Wilson’s powerful vocals fill the space between the thumping bass and frantic guitar in this deftly layered composition, rich with harmony and repetition.

YouTube VideoPlay

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine