If anyone was going to make the coronavirus pandemic a little less awful, it was Fiona Apple.

Fiona Apple’s fifth record, and first in eight years, has already been touted as her best in her 24-year career. The narrative swarming its way through the internet is that Fetch The Bolt Cutters sounds like what 2020 feels like.

It seems as if everyone finally feels heard. From black America, to women in their thirties and forties, to pre-teens who weren’t able to encapsulate their emotions thus far, Fetch The Bolt Cutters writes it better than we could feel it.

It’s any wonder Pitchfork named the album one of the best in years, giving out their first perfect review in close to a decade

Stream the record below, then check out why the staff here at Tone Deaf love it so much.

LISTEN: Fiona Apple, Fetch The Bolt Cutters

Fetch the Bolt Cutters might have been a long time coming for fans of the great Fiona Apple, but there’s no denying the fact it’s the very definition of being worth the wait. Eclectic, unafraid, and unlike anything else you’ve ever heard, Apple is at her lyrical and musical best on this record, and has truly made what can be described as a historical record.”
– Tyler Jenke, Rolling Stone Australia Editor

“It is impossible for me to write anything about this album because I simply do not know how to describe how it made me feel, because it made me feel everything. Fetch The Bolt Cutters made me feel as though my soul had been excavated and laid bare. It is a record that made me feel so many unidentifiable emotions that I’m still trying to figure out days after listening. I know that it’s going to be one of the most important records of my lifetime. Fiona Apple forever.”
– Geordie Gray, Writer

Fetch The Bolt Cutters Tracklist

1. “I Want You to Love Me”
2. “Shameika”
3. “Fetch the Bolt Cutters”
4. “Under the Table”
5. “Relay”
6. “Rack of His”
7. “Newspaper”
8. “Ladies” (music composed by Sebastian Steinberg and Davíd Garza) 5:25
9. “Heavy Balloon”
10. “Cosmonauts”
11. “For Her”
12. “Drumset”
13. “On I Go”