Ticket-holders to I’ll Be Your Mirror Melbourne, the glorious return of All Tomorrow’s Parties to Australian shores, already knew the excellent range of bands that would be playing the weekend of February 16th & 17th, but it was still yet unclear as to the finer details. One stage? Clashes? Playing times?

Fret no more, as the set times of all the acts – and a few new juicy details – playing across two stages of ATP Melbourne have been released, and thankfully there’s some much-needed overalp between bands and stages to ensure you can catch the most of the amazing lineup.

The first day of the festival is curated by ATP themselves, with the highlights being a two hour set from post-rock royalty Godspeed You! Black Emperor before the arrival of Saturday night headliners My Bloody Valentine, with the Irish shoegaze pioneers gifting Australian audiences as among the world’s first to hear material from their 22-years-in-the-making new album, m b v – which is “nothing short of a masterpiece,” gushed our Tone Deaf reviewer.

Playing on the same stage earlier in the day are USA’s Sleepy Sun and Thee Oh Sees, as well as New York’s post-punk droners Swans. While over at the second stage there’s a mix of domestic and international gems, including Australia-via-Barcelona instrumental boffins Civil Civic, Melbourne’s New War, and the closing triumvirate of HTRK, The Dead C, and Oren Ambarchi.

The second day of ATP Melbourne is curated by Australian heroes The Drones, who will also presumably be playing brand new material from their forthcoming  album  I See Seaweed. They’re (bizarrely) placed in the early evening, warming the stage for influential cult act Pere Ubu, who will be performing the crown jewel of their 35 year career, their 1978 debut The Modern Dance, live and in full, just one day shy of the album’s 35th Anniversary.
Thankfully there’s some much-needed overalp between bands and stages to ensure you can catch the most of the amazing lineup.

Following that is the reunion of the original lineup of the Beasts of Bourbon – featuring  Tex Perkins, Spencer P Jones, Kim Salmon, James Baker and Boris Sujfovic – getting the band back together for The Drones-curated Sunday, concluding with the Germanic aural assault of Einsturzende Neubauten, playing their first Australian show in over 20 years.

It’s been two decades of absence for Crime and the City Solution too, who precede The Drones’ set, and follow on from Melbourne trio My Disco, who are currently celebrating 10 raucous years of music-making.

The second stage features a host of homegrown talent, from Dan Kelly Dream Band through to Harmony and Melbourne natives Lost Animal, concluding with an hour-long spot from Don Walker.

ATP organisers have also put together two full cinema sessions to complement the music programme, with screenings of cult classics, some celluloid obscurities, and a music doco or two. Closing the cinema for both Saturday and Sundy, and rolling late into the night, will be karaoke hosted by ABC’s music video institution RAGE – which will no doubt be a highlight for closet rockstars looking to extend into the early morning.

The festival organisers also emphasises that the Cinema and Stage 2 will not hold full attendance capacity, advising punters wishing to catch some flicks or the Stage 2 bands to arrive early to stake a spot and guarantee avoiding disappointment.

Weekend passes for the two-day festival are already completely sold out, but a few ticket allocations for Sunday are still available from www.ATPFestival.com.

All Tomorrow’s Parties – I’ll Be Your Mirror Melbourne Set Times

Saturday 16th curated by ATP
Stage 1:
1.45pm-2.30pm – Sleepy Sun
3.00pm-4.00pm – Thee Oh Sees
4.30pm-6.30pm – Swans
7.15pm-9.15pm – Godspeed You! Black Emperor
10.00pm-11.20pm – my bloody valentine

Stage 2:
1.00pm-1.45pm – Strangers From Now On
2.45pm-3.30pm – Civil Civic
4.00pm-4.45pm – Standish/Carlyon
5.15pm-6.00pm – Ben Frost
6.30pm-7.15pm – New War
7.45pm-8.30pm – HTRK
9.00pm-10.00pm – The Dead C
11.30pm-12.30am – Oren Ambarchi

1.15pm-3.31pm – Come And See
4.00pm-6.32pm – Secret Film
7.00pm-8.30pm – The Italian
9.00pm-10.33pm – Night Of The Hunter
10.30pm-1.00am – Karaoke presented by RAGE

7.15pm – Mixtape Swap

Sunday 17th curated by The Drones
Stage 1:
2.45pm-3.15pm – My Disco
3.45pm-4.45pm – Crime And The City Solution
5.15pm-6.30pm – The Drones
7.00pm-8.15pm – Pere Ubu perform The Modern Dance
8.45pm-9.45pm – Beasts Of Bourbon
10.15pm-11.30pm – Einsturzende Neubauten

Stage 2:
1.30pm-2.15pm – Cam Butler & The Shadows Of Love
3.15pm-4.00pm – Dan Kelly Dream Band
4.45pm-5.30pm – The Stickmen
6.15pm-7.00pm – Harmony
8.00pm-8.45pm – Lost Animal
9.45pm-10.45pm – Don Walker

1.15pm-2.38pm – Theremin: An Electronic Odyssey
3.00pm-4.00pm – The Search For Animal Chin
4.30pm-6.17pm – Down By Law
6.30pm-8.19pm – The King Of Comedy
8.30pm-11.18pm – There Will Be Blood
11.20pm-1.00am – Karaoke presented by RAGE

All Tomorrow’s Parties – I’ll Be Your Mirror Melbourne Dates & Tickets

Curated by ATP & The Drones
February 16th and 17th 2013
Westgate Entertainment Centre and Grand Star Reception, Altona, Melbourne, Victoria
Tix on sale Now from www.ATPFestival.com

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine