The 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has unveiled this year’s class of inductees: Foo Fighters, Jay-Z, Carole King, Todd Rundgren and Tina Turner lead the charge in the performer’s category. 

In addition to the five performers, seven other inductees are set to be celebrated. LL Cool J, Randy Rhodes and Billy Preston will all be honoured with the Music Excellence Award. Kraftwerk, Charley Patton and Gil Scott Heron will receive the Early Influence Award. The Ahmet Ertegun Award will be awarded to Sussex Records founder Clarence Avant.

This years celebration is unique in the number of inductees outside the performer’s categories. Previous ceremonies traditionally celebrate two or three inductees, 2021 will celebrate seven.

“That’s because we’ve really created, for the first time this year, special committees that actually nominate and induct artists,” says chairman John Sykes. “These are very diverse committees that actually include artists themselves like [Run-DMC’s] Darryl McDaniels, Little Steven, and Tom Morello.”

2021 also marks the most diverse class in the history of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame: “It really represents the Hall’s ongoing commitment to honor the artists that have created not only rock & roll, but the sound of youth culture,” adds Sykes.

This marks Dave Grohl, Tina Turner and Carole King’s second induction in the Hall of Fame. King was inducted back in 1990 with her songwriting partner Gerry Goffin as a non-performer. Dave Grohl was ushered in in 2014 in celebration of his work with Nirvana. Whilst Turner entered in 1991 through her work in the Ike & Tina Turner duo.

“It’s very difficult to get inducted twice and we have three this year,” adds Sykes. “It’s also a rare year where three of the six inductees are women: Tina, Carole and the Go-Gos. It just shows the continued power and relevance and recognition of women in music.”

Love Classic Rock?

Get the latest Classic Rock news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

The 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held at Cleveland, Ohio’s Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse on October 30th. It will be broadcast on HBO Max.

2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees

Performers Category:

  • Foo Fighters
  • Jay-Z
  • The Go-Go’s
  • Carole King
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Tina Turner

Ahmet Ertegun Award (given to non-performing music industry professionals)

  • Clarence Avant

Musical Excellence Award

  • LL Cool J
  • Billy Preston
  • Randy Rhoads

Early Influence Award

  • Kraftwerk
  • Gil Scott-Heron
  • Charley Patton

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine