National youth broadcaster triple j have unveiled the nominees for their annual J Awards.

Now in its 17th year, the J Awards have served as a means for triple j to celebrate Australian artists and their achievements over the past year. With five awards categories: Australian Album of the Year, Australian Music Video of the Year, Unearthed Artist of the Year, Double J Artist of the Year, and the Done Good Award.

It’s been a fruitful year for Australian music, this year’s nominees see a diverse array of outstanding albums up for nomination for the Australian Album of the Year award, including records by Amyl and The Sniffers, Ruby Fields, The Avalanches, Baker Boy, Greta Ray, Middle Kids, RÜFÜS DU SOL, Genesis Owusu, Holy Holy, and Tones and I.

YouTube VideoPlay

The Double J Artist of the Year nominations see the likes of Amyl and The Sniffers, The Avalanches, Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Hiatus Kaiyote and Ngaiire battle it out, while the race for the Unearthed Artist of the Year award will be between 1300
Blanke, Hope D, King Stingray, and Teenage Joans.

Meanwhile, the Australian Music Video of the Year award sees the likes of OneFour, Sampa The Great, Tasman Keith, Tkay Maidza, and Violent Soho all battling it out.

YouTube VideoPlay

Finally, the Done Good Award, which recognizes an Australian who has made a significant impact upon the industry, nominates the likes of Concrete Surfers, Digi Youth Arts, Jack River, Jaguar Jonze and Support Act.

The 2021 J Awards will be unveiled throughout the day on Thursday, November 18th, on triple j, triple j Unearthed and Double J.

Love Ruby Fields?

Get the latest Ruby Fields news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

YouTube VideoPlay

triple j J Awards

Album of the Year

Amyl and The Sniffers – Comfort To Me 
The Avalanches – We Will Always Love You 
Baker Boy – Gela 
Genesis Owusu – Smiling With No Teeth  
Gretta Ray – Begin To Look Around 
Holy Holy – Hello My Beautiful World 
Middle Kids – Today We’re The Greatest 
Ruby Fields – Been Doin’ It For A Bit  
RÜFÜS DU SOL – Surrender  
Tones And I – Welcome To The Madhouse

Unearthed Artist of the Year

Hope D
King Stingray
Teenage Joans

Double J Australian Artist of the Year

Amyl and The Sniffers
The Avalanches
Emma Donovan & The Putbacks
Hiatus Kaiyote

triple j and RAGE Australian Music Video of the Year

Genesis Owusu – ‘The Other Black Dog’ Dir. Riley Blakeway
Jerome Farah – ‘Concrete Jungle Fever’ Dir. Sanjay De Silva
King Stingray – ‘Milkumana’ Dir. King Stingray & Sam Brumby
Triple One – ‘BLOOD RAVE’ Dir. Serwah Attafuah
Ziggy Ramo – ‘Little Things [Ft. Paul Kelly]’ Dir. Ziggy Ramo

Done Good Award

Concrete Surfers
Digi Youth Arts
Jack River
Jaguar Jonze
Support Act


Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine