Weezer have shocked their entire fanbase by dropping a surprise album full of cover versions.

Back in February of 2018, Weezer made their fans incredibly excited by announcing that their long-awaited Weezer (The Black Album) would be released on May 25th. However, that date came and went, with fans wondering when they would be getting their next colour-themed record from the band.

Instead of addressing the lack of album over the last year, the band turned their attention to a rather humorous Internet campaign. After a fan began to plead for the band to cover Toto’s ‘Africa’, other fans jumped on board, calling for Weezer to get behind this notion.

Before long, Weezer released their own Toto cover version, only it was ‘Rosanna’, and not the cover that fans were waiting for. Thankfully, they soon made good on their promise, and released their own version of ‘Africa’, giving them their first #1 on Billboard’s Rock Airplay chart in the process.

Before long, Toto also got in on the action, recording their own cover of Weezer’s ‘Hash Pipe’ as a way to return the favour. Needless to say, this was not the unexpected friendship we saw blossoming in last year.

While the band finally revealed in November that The Black Album would drop on March 1st, they’ve just surprised all of their fans by releasing a brand new covers album.

Titled Weezer (The Teal Album), the ten song release dropped without warning only hours ago, and serves as the band’s twelfth studio album, and fifth self-titled record.

As for the tracklist, the album sees the alt-rockers tackling songs by the likes of Michael Jackson, Eurythmics, a-Ha, Tears For Fears, Black Sabbath, and of course, Toto. While their ‘Africa’ cover made the cut, their version of ‘Rosanna’ sadly fell by the wayside.

Who knows, maybe it’ll be a bonus track when The Black Album arrives in just over a month? Only time will tell. But in the meantime, check out a bunch of covers performed by none other than rock icons Weezer.

Check out Weezer’s cover of Black Sabbath’s ‘Paranoid’:

YouTube VideoPlay

Weezer (The Teal Album)

Front cover of Weezer's 'The Teal Album'

Weezer (The Teal Album) Tracklist:

1. ‘Africa’ (Toto)
2. ‘Everybody Wants to Rule the World’ (Tears for Fears)
3. ‘Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)’ (Eurythmics)
4. ‘Take On Me’ (a-ha)
5. ‘Happy Together’ (The Turtles)
6. ‘Paranoid’ (Black Sabbath)
7. ‘Mr. Blue Sky’ (Electric Light Orchestra)
8. ‘No Scrubs’ (TLC)
9. ‘Billie Jean’ (Michael Jackson)
10. ‘Stand by Me’ (Ben E. King)

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine