French popsters Phoenix have returned with the release of a brand new synth-driven single ‘Entertainment’ off their forthcoming fifth studio album Bankrupt! due out later this year.

Following up from their hugely successful 2009 release Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix which spawned crowd-pleasers ‘Lisztomania’ and ‘1901’, fans have been eagerly anticipating new material from the quartet.

‘Entertainment’ is a strong return for Phoenix with an almost M83-inspired synth introduction bursting with a bold keyboard chorus. The group have certainly evolved from their pop roots, with vocalist Thomas Mars embracing the falsetto and strong synth dance vibe alongside their retro catchy hooks and drum lines.

As reported by Stereogum, the pop kings have also released the tracklisting for Bankrupt! which is due out on April 22nd. Alongside the tracks comes the album artwork which includes a blossoming peach and pink flower, a demure cover for the French outfit.
‘Entertainment’ is a strong return for Phoenix with an almost M83-inspired synth introduction bursting with a bold keyboard chorus.

A video teaser for the album released last week, shows excellent promise for the unreleased material, and shows off an understated yet beautiful melody that features on upcoming track ‘Bourgeois’.

Phoenix are set to tour the album soon with upcoming dates in the US and festival appearances in Europe confirmed, including German wonder Rock am Ring & Rock im Park, a festival which rotates its lineup between cities Nürburgring and Nürnberg during July. Phoenix will also be appearing at Portuguese festival Optimus Alive! and a Beligian performance at Rock Werchter.

With its anticipated release Bankrupt! will join a swag of international albums due for release this year including the long awaited fifth LP from New Yorkers The Strokes, the new Fall Out Boy releaseDaft Punk’s long-awaited fourth studio albumDavid Bowie’s first new album in a decade, and anticipated releases from the likes of Vampire WeekendYeah Yeah YeahsBlack Rebel Motorcycle Club, and The Knife’s 98 minute opusShaking The Habitual.

This comes alongside the strong collection of great Australian releases due this year including the Cat Empire’s new one, the second album from Melbourne twosome Big Scary and a heap of new albums from The Drones, Bernard Fanning, Birds of Tokyothe AMP shortlisted Hermitude, Hilltop Hoods, Airbourne, Boy & Bear, Matt Corby, Washington, Nick Cave & The Bad SeedsSuper Wild Horses, a heap of new material from Pond.

You can listen to ‘Entertainment’ below and view the artwork and tracklisting for Phoenix’s latest.

Bankrupt! Tracklisting:
01. “Entertainment”
02. “The Real Thing”
03. “S.O.S. In Bel Air”
04. “Trying To Be Cool”
05. “Bankrupt!”
06. “Drakkar Noir”
07. “Chloroform”
08. “Don’t”
09. “Bourgeois”
10. “Oblique City”

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine