As we near the end of 2018, music fans are looking towards next year’s Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame inductions, with the institution revealing their list of nominations today.

Late last year, we saw some of the biggest names in music nominated for the iconic Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame. While bands like Radiohead and Rage Against The Machine were nominated in their first year of eligibility, the eventual 2018 inductees included the likes of Bon Jovi, The Cars, Dire Straits, Nina Simone, and The Moody Blues.

Now, the nominations for 2019 have landed, and it’s more or less what you’d expect, with a mix of first-timers and repeat offenders making the cut.

While acts such as Radiohead and Rage Against The Machine are eligible for the second time in a row, this year marks the first time that acts such as Def Leppard, Devo, John Prine, Roxy Music, Stevie Nicks, and Todd Rundgren have been nominated.

Incidentally, Stevie Nicks has already been inducted into the Rock Hall as a member of Fleetwood Mac, but this will be the first time she’s been nominated as a solo act.

YouTube VideoPlay

As Rolling Stone points out, this year’s nominations mark the fifth time that Kraftwerk and LL Cool J have been nominated, the fourth time for The Zombies and MC5, the third time for Janet Jackson and Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, and the second for The Cure.

Notably, last year’s nominations saw Radiohead try and distance themselves from the Rock Hall of Fame, with guitarist Ed O’Brien noting that Dr Dre “should be first on the list way ahead of Radiohead” up for inductions next year.

Love Rage Against The Machine?

Get the latest Rage Against The Machine news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

“As a British band, it’s one of those things that it’s very lovely to be nominated, but we don’t quite culturally understand it,” O’Brien explained. “It’s a very American thing. Us Brits are very bad at celebrating ourselves.”

“It’s in our DNA to be a little ambivalent with award ceremonies,” he explained, noting that the Rock Hall of Fame is  “a little bit thin on black artists and hip-hop artists” and that he “would have thought that Dr Dre should have been in there two years ago”.

The next step now is for a pool of over 1,000 artists, historians, journalists and members of the music industry to cast their votes on just who will make the cut for next year, with members of the public also getting their chance to vote.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s class of 2019 will be formally inducted on March 29th, 2019 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York City.

Check out Radiohead’s ‘Just’:

YouTube VideoPlay

2019 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Nominations

The Cure
Def Leppard
Janet Jackson
John Prine
LL Cool J
Rage Against the Machine
Roxy Music
Rufus & Chaka Khan
Stevie Nicks
Todd Rundgren
The Zombies

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine