It’s only February and Odette has released a serious contender for the Australian album of the year with her second record, Herald.

The Sydney-based pop artist shimmers and ripples over 11 beautifully and devastatingly crafted songs which chronicle the last five years of Odette’s life. All tracks are produced by Damian Taylor (Björk, Arcade Fire, The Killers), and with entries like the title track ‘Herald’, about bringing in new growth, the album is both a momentary snapshot of multiple raw emotions, and a sign of departure from every one of them.

“I wanted the music video for ‘Herald’ to represent my experience of Borderline Personality Disorder. It draws in the viewer, grates at them at the same time as it shares impulsivity, and beauty,” Odette said. “The performance is dramatic and over the top – it’s a raw look into my experience, both romanticised and turbulent.”

Check out Odette’s video for ‘Herald’:

Click to play videoPlay

Speaking of Herald as a whole, Odette said: “This album is sort of a nuanced discussion of the positives and the negatives of mental illness and also just being a human being. It talks about the realities of hurting others, the consequences of that, and even more so, it holds me accountable—it holds me to my word.”

Stream Odette’s second album Herald below, then read up on why the team here at Tone Deaf love it so much.

Stream Odette, Herald:

“When Odette first appeared on the scene a few years ago, anyone who heard her work knew that she was set for greatness. While debut album To a Stranger proved she was kicking things off on a high, it’s new record Herald that showcases her worth as an enduring presence on the Aussie music scene. Throw in stellar compositions with flawless, impassioned vocals, and you’ve got the makings of one of the year’s best records. It might be too early to call it an ‘album of the year’ contender, but if it doesn’t make the shortlist, questions need to be raised.”
– Tyler Jenke

“With Herald, Odette soars to glorious heights. The mood is weighty, sometimes crushing, but Odette exults with such grace and elegance. Over the course of 11-tracks, she reaches for a clarity that feels truly thrilling.”
– Geordie Gray

Check out Odette’s clip for ‘Amends’:

Click to play videoPlay

Track Listing

1. Herald
2. Dwell
3. Trial By Fire
4. What I Know Is Not Enough
5. I Miss You I’m Sorry
6. Foghorn
7. Feverbreak (feat. Hermitude)
8. Amends
9. Why Can’t I Let The Sun Set
10. Wait For You
11. Mandible