After whats been an incredibly dramatic reunion for the 90s legends, The Smashing Pumpkins have finally released a new track. ‘Solara’ marks the first new track by Billy Corgan, James Iha, and Jimmy Chamberlin have released together since 2000.

The track sees the band take on a power-chord driven radio rock sound, with Corgan’s iconic vocal inflexions taking the forefront. The track was recorded with Rick Rubin, who the band were revealed to be working in the studio with earlier this year, with Billy Corgan taking to social media to reveal the release plan for their upcoming EPs. 

Check it out for yourself below:

YouTube VideoPlay

Original bass player D’Arcy Wretszky’s omission from the reunion has been widely reported, with the bassist taking to social media to diss former bandmate Billy Corgan on multiple occasions. Corgan has also sounded off on Wretszky’s exclusion, going so far as to dismiss her original role in the band.

Get unlimited access to the coverage that shapes our culture.
to Rolling Stone magazine
to Rolling Stone magazine